First Watch Restaurant Group, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary
Reporting date: January 5, 2024; filed January 8, 2024. The filing reports a proposed acquisition of franchise-owned restaurants and an amendment to the company’s credit facilities. It does not provide quarterly or annual operating results, revenue, profit, cash flow, or margin data.
Business Context and Transaction
- First Watch Restaurants, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary, agreed to acquire substantially all assets related to 21 franchise-owned First Watch restaurants and one restaurant under development in North Carolina.
- The aggregate purchase price is $75 million on a cash-free, debt-free basis, subject to adjustments for security deposits, prorations, gift card liabilities, and other post-closing items.
- $1.5 million of the purchase price will be held back for 120 days after closing for specified liabilities, cash drawer and inventory shortfalls, and indemnification.
- $4.125 million will be placed in escrow for 18 months as a non-exclusive indemnification fund.
- Closing is subject to customary conditions, including the restaurants maintaining a minimum profit performance level. The filing does not state whether closing has occurred.
- The sellers are subject to five-year non-competition and non-solicitation restrictions following closing.
Financing, Liquidity, and Debt
| Facility | Key terms |
|---|---|
| Initial term loan | Existing $100 million term loan A replaced with a new $100 million term loan A. |
| Revolving facility | Existing $75 million revolving facility replaced; new commitments increased by $50 million to an aggregate $125 million. |
| Delayed-draw term facility | New $125 million facility, drawable in increments of at least $5 million during the 18 months following January 5, 2024. |
| Maturity | The initial term loans, revolving facility, and delayed-draw term loans mature on January 5, 2029. |
| Permitted uses | Acquisitions of franchisees, new restaurant capital expenditures, repayment of revolving loans, replenishment of cash used for permitted investments, and related fees and expenses. |
| Interest | Either base rate plus a margin of 150–225 basis points or SOFR plus a 10-basis-point credit spread adjustment and a margin of 250–325 basis points, depending on leverage. |
The initial term loan amortizes at 2.5% annually in the first year, 5.0% in years two and three, 7.5% in year four, and 10.0% thereafter. Delayed-draw term loans amortize after specified term-out dates at the then-applicable initial term-loan rate. The filing does not state the amount drawn at closing or the company’s resulting outstanding debt, cash balance, liquidity, leverage ratio, or interest expense.
Material Changes Versus the Prior Period
- First Watch entered into a material acquisition agreement involving 21 operating restaurants and one restaurant under development.
- The company refinanced or replaced its existing $100 million term loan A and $75 million revolving facility.
- Available financing capacity increased through a $125 million revolving facility and a new $125 million delayed-draw term facility, subject to borrowing conditions and company discretion regarding commitment reductions.
- No comparable-period revenue, earnings, cash flow, margin, or same-restaurant sales changes are disclosed in this 8-K.
Outlook, Risks, and Unusual Items
- Management’s transaction-related expectations include expanding company ownership of franchise restaurants and supporting future acquisitions and restaurant capital expenditures; specific financial guidance is not provided.
- The acquisition remains subject to closing conditions and a minimum profit performance requirement, creating execution and completion risk.
- The purchase price holdback and escrow reduce the amount immediately available to sellers and may result in post-closing adjustments or claims.
- The expanded debt facilities increase potential leverage and interest-rate exposure. Borrowings are subject to applicable covenants, leverage-based pricing, amortization requirements, and other credit agreement terms.
- Risks identified include inflation and macroeconomic conditions, food and labor costs, labor shortages, consumer demand, franchisee performance, restaurant development and integration, supply disruptions, cybersecurity, regulatory compliance, leasing obligations, natural disasters, geopolitical events, and the company’s level of indebtedness.
- The filing includes customary forward-looking statement disclaimers and does not provide quantified acquisition synergies or expected accretion/dilution.
Important Facts for Investors to Verify
- Whether and when the North Carolina acquisition closes, including final purchase-price adjustments.
- The acquired restaurants’ historical and expected revenue, profitability, same-restaurant sales, and capital expenditure requirements.
- The amount of the new delayed-draw and revolving facilities actually drawn and the company’s post-transaction net leverage.
- Applicable financial covenants, mandatory prepayments, amortization, and interest-rate sensitivity under the amended credit agreement.
- The final treatment and release of the $1.5 million holdback and $4.125 million escrow.
- Any acquisition-related costs, integration expenses, goodwill, intangible assets, or other accounting effects in subsequent financial statements.