Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc. annual report, FY2011

Filing summary

Issuer and period: The supplied filing is Fortune Brands Home & Security, Inc.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, filed February 22, 2012. The filing does not identify the issuer as Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc.; investors should verify the company and filing match their intended research. The “2011 Q4” results below are the fourth quarter within this annual filing.

Business context

The company designs, manufactures and sells branded home and security products through four segments: Kitchen & Bath Cabinetry, Plumbing & Accessories, Advanced Material Windows & Door Systems, and Security & Storage. It completed its spin-off from Fortune Brands, Inc. on October 3, 2011. International markets generated about 17% of 2011 net sales. Home Depot and Lowe’s accounted for 13% and 15% of annual sales, respectively.

Key financial metrics

MetricFY 2011FY 2010FY 2011 Q4FY 2010 Q4
Net sales$3,328.6 million$3,233.5 million$876.1 million$843.7 million
Gross profit$996.5 million$1,056.4 million$239.1 million$266.4 million
Gross margin29.9%32.7%27.3%31.6%
Operating income (loss)$(15.6) million$198.4 million$(109.4) million$36.4 million
Net income (loss) attributable to company$(35.6) million$63.8 million$(71.0) million$11.2 million
Diluted earnings (loss) per share$(0.23)$0.41$(0.46)$0.07
Cash from operating activities$175.4 million$138.9 millionNot separately statedNot separately stated

Annual operating margin was approximately negative 0.5%, versus 6.1% in 2010; annual net margin attributable to the company was approximately negative 1.1%, versus 2.0%. The filing reports a 2011 income tax benefit of $9.0 million and an effective tax rate of 20.6% calculated as if the company were a separate taxpayer.

At December 31, 2011, cash and cash equivalents were $120.8 million, current assets $953.5 million, and current liabilities $597.8 million (current ratio about 1.6). External debt was $406.8 million, plus $3.8 million of short-term bank borrowings. The balance included $350 million under a term loan and $50 million drawn on a revolving facility. The company reported compliance with its credit covenants. Free cash flow, a non-GAAP measure defined by the company, was $121.4 million; capital expenditures were $68.5 million.

Material changes versus prior periods

  • Annual sales rose 2.9%, but operating results fell from $198.4 million of income to a $15.6 million loss. The annual loss included $90.0 million of tradename impairment charges and $80.0 million of defined-benefit actuarial losses.
  • Fourth-quarter sales increased about 3.8%, while gross profit fell about 10.2%; the quarter swung from operating income of $36.4 million to an operating loss of $109.4 million and from attributable net income of $11.2 million to a loss of $71.0 million.
  • Advanced Material Windows & Door Systems sales declined 8% for the year and the segment recorded a $101.2 million operating loss, including the $90.0 million impairment. Cabinetry sales grew 6%, but segment operating income fell 80% to $5.7 million. Plumbing sales grew 4% and operating income grew 4%; Security & Storage sales grew 7% and operating income grew 16%.
  • Operating cash flow increased $36.5 million year over year. Cash increased to $120.8 million from $60.7 million. Investing cash outflow rose to $71.0 million, including $68.5 million of capital spending and a $6.0 million regional windows acquisition.
  • The spin-off materially changed the balance sheet: the Former Parent contributed $2.7 billion in equity, capitalizing intercompany loans, and the company established standalone bank facilities. Historical statements include allocated Former Parent costs and are not necessarily representative of standalone costs or future results.

Outlook, risks and unusual items

  • Management expected a gradual, uneven U.S. home-products recovery and described near-term results as challenging. It expected higher raw-material and transportation costs, continued consumer preference for value products, and cabinet promotions through 2012 at roughly 2011 levels. Management intended to offset pressures through productivity initiatives and price increases; the filing gives no numerical earnings or sales guidance.
  • The $90.0 million impairment reflected reduced Simonton revenue-growth and profit-margin expectations, including weaker-than-expected 2011 sales following expiration of energy-efficiency tax incentives. The company said the relevant Advanced Material Windows & Door Systems reporting units had less than 10% excess fair value, making further impairment possible.
  • The company changed its defined-benefit expense recognition method in 2011 and retrospectively restated prior periods. Immediate recognition of actuarial gains and losses increases earnings volatility. A lower discount rate and pension-asset returns below expectations contributed to 2011 actuarial losses. Pension plan assets were $477.9 million, or 77% of the accumulated benefit obligation; management expected approximately $20 million of pension contributions in 2012.
  • Key risks include prolonged weakness in housing and remodeling, competition and promotional pricing, commodity and energy inflation, customer concentration, supplier interruptions, pension funding and valuation assumptions, foreign-exchange exposure, product liability, litigation, and goodwill or intangible impairment.
  • Separation-related contingencies include tax-free-spin-off qualification, indemnification obligations, and restrictions on certain equity, acquisition and asset transactions for two years after distribution. Unrecognized tax benefits were $35.4 million; the filing says these could decrease by $3 million to $15 million within 12 months. Environmental cleanup accruals were $7.9 million; eight PRP matters remained unresolved. Management did not expect ordinary-course litigation or environmental matters to have a material adverse effect.
  • The company did not anticipate near-term cash dividends. Management reported effective disclosure controls, but the 10-K omitted management’s internal-control-over-financial-reporting assessment and auditor attestation under the SEC transition period for newly public companies.

Most important facts for investors to verify

  • Confirm the issuer: the filing is for Fortune Brands Home & Security, Inc., not a company named Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc.
  • Review the fourth-quarter deterioration and distinguish recurring operating trends from the impairment and pension-accounting charges.
  • Assess the sustainability of cash generation, debt repayment capacity, variable-rate exposure, and compliance with the 3.0-to-1.0 interest-coverage and 3.5-to-1.0 leverage covenants.
  • Test the assumptions behind Simonton valuations and the limited fair-value headroom in the windows and doors reporting units.
  • Evaluate standalone costs, pension obligations, separation-related tax and indemnity exposure, and the concentration of sales with Home Depot and Lowe’s.