Franklin BSP Realty Trust, Inc. current report, 28 September 2023

Business Context and Reporting Period

Company: Franklin BSP Realty Trust, Inc.
Filing Type: Form 8-K (Current Report)
Date of Report: September 28, 2023
Event: Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement and Creation of a Direct Financial Obligation.

Key Financial Metrics and Transaction Details

The Company closed a commercial real estate mortgage securitization transaction on September 28, 2023. The transaction involved the following key figures:

  • Total Portfolio Principal Balance: Approximately $897 million.
  • Notes Sold in Private Placement: $767 million.
  • Use of Proceeds: Repayment of borrowings under current credit facilities, funding future loans and investments, and general corporate purposes.
  • Accounting Treatment: The Company accounts for the issuance as a financing on its balance sheet, retaining ownership of the underlying portfolio through the Issuer's equity.

Note Structure and Interest Rates (Initial):

Note Class Principal Amount Interest Rate (Spread + 1 Month CME Term SOFR)
Class A $461,725,000 2.259%
Class A-S $143,449,000 2.859%
Class B $61,638,000 3.265%
Class C $50,431,000 3.974%
Class D $32,500,000 4.871%
Class E $16,811,000 5.868%
Class F $12,327,000 Not Disclosed
Class G $21,293,000 Not Disclosed
Class H $21,294,000 Not Disclosed
Class J (Income Notes) $75,086,441 Not Disclosed

Portfolio Composition: Ten commercial, multifamily, and/or manufactured housing community real estate mortgage loans, plus nineteen fully-funded senior participations or senior notes.

Material Changes and Obligations

This filing represents a significant change in the Company's capital structure through the creation of a new direct financial obligation. The Notes are limited recourse obligations payable solely from the cash flow generated by the Portfolio and other pledged assets. The filing does not provide comparative financial metrics (revenue, profit, cash flow) for the period, as it is a transaction-specific report rather than a periodic financial statement.

Outlook, Risks, and Contingencies

  • Maturity and Redemption: The stated maturity date is September 15, 2035. However, the initial weighted average life for Class A Notes is expected to be 2.67 years. The Issuer may redeem Notes on specific dates beginning September 2033, subject to conditions.
  • Clean-Up Call: The Notes are subject to a clean-up call if the outstanding principal is reduced to 10% of the original amount.
  • Repurchase Obligation: If representations or warranties regarding the mortgage assets are materially inaccurate, the Company (as seller) may be compelled to repurchase affected assets at par plus accrued interest.
  • Tax Contingency: The Company may be required to redeem all Notes if events occur that subject the Issuer to U.S. income taxes or withholding taxes.
  • Events of Default: Includes the requirement to register as an investment company under the Investment Company Act of 1940 or the loss of the Issuer's status as a qualified REIT subsidiary.
  • Servicing Fees: The Servicer receives 0.04% per annum plus a $1,250 monthly reporting fee. The Special Servicer receives 0.25% per annum on specially serviced assets, plus potential workout or liquidation fees of 1.00%.

Investor Verification Checklist

  • Verify the specific interest rate spreads for Class F, G, H, and J notes, which are not explicitly detailed in the summary text.
  • Confirm the exact amount of existing credit facility debt being repaid with the $767 million in proceeds.
  • Review the full Indenture (Exhibit 10.1) for detailed terms regarding the "clean-up call" and mandatory redemption triggers.
  • Assess the credit quality and delinquency status of the ten mortgage loans and nineteen participations comprising the $897 million portfolio.
  • Monitor the Company's liquidity position post-transaction to ensure sufficient cash flow for the new monthly interest payments starting October 15, 2023.