Foghorn Therapeutics Inc. current report, 15 April 2022

Foghorn Therapeutics Inc. — Form 8-K Summary

Reporting date: April 15, 2022. The filing reports entry into a material definitive agreement and related exhibits; it does not provide quarterly or annual operating results.

Business Context and Transaction

Foghorn Therapeutics entered into a sales agreement with Cowen and Company, LLC to offer and sell up to $200.0 million of common stock from time to time through an “at-the-market” offering under the company’s effective Form S-3 shelf registration statement.

  • Shares may be sold on Nasdaq or another existing trading market at prices and times directed by the company.
  • The company is not obligated to sell any shares.
  • Cowen will receive a commission of up to 3.0% of the gross sales price of shares sold.
  • The agreement terminates upon the sale of all covered shares or earlier termination under its terms.
  • The offering is supported by the company’s February 14, 2022 Form S-3, Post-Effective Amendment No. 1 dated April 15, 2022, and related prospectus supplement.

Financial Metrics and Capitalization

The filing does not provide revenue, profit or loss, cash flow, margins, debt, cash balances, liquidity measures, or other operating financial metrics.

The potential offering size is $200.0 million in aggregate gross proceeds. Net proceeds are not stated because the amount and timing of any sales are undetermined and commissions and offering expenses would reduce gross proceeds.

Material Changes Versus Prior Period

The filing text does not provide a comparable-period financial statement or identify period-over-period operating changes. The material change disclosed is the establishment of a new equity financing facility with potential dilution to existing stockholders.

Outlook, Risks, and Unusual Items

  • Any proceeds would depend on future sales under the agreement; no assurance is given that shares will be sold.
  • Issuance of common stock could dilute existing holders and may place downward pressure on the stock price.
  • The company may control the timing, price, and volume of sales, subject to applicable law and the agreement.
  • The filing does not state a specific use of proceeds, financial guidance, cash runway, or liquidity outlook.
  • Cowen receives customary indemnification rights, and the filing includes legal counsel’s opinion regarding the shares.

Investor Verification Checklist

  • Verify the actual number and price of shares sold, if any, and gross and net proceeds received.
  • Review subsequent filings for utilization or termination of the $200.0 million facility.
  • Assess dilution based on shares issued relative to the company’s outstanding shares.
  • Review the complete Sales Agreement, prospectus supplement, and later financial statements for use of proceeds and liquidity.
  • Confirm applicable commissions, offering expenses, and any changes to the shelf registration or offering terms.