GoPro, Inc. Form 10-K Summary
Business context and reporting period
Fiscal year ended December 31, 2020; filed February 12, 2021. GoPro sells cameras, mounts and accessories, plus subscriptions and related software services, globally through GoPro.com, retailers and distributors. It reports one operating segment. COVID-19 materially affected the year, and the company accelerated its shift toward direct-to-consumer sales.
Key financial metrics
| Metric | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | Q4 2020 | Q4 2019 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $891.9 million | $1,194.7 million | $357.8 million | $528.3 million |
| Gross margin | 35.3% | 34.6% | 38.0% | 38.2% |
| Operating expenses | $351.3 million | $415.1 million | $80.7 million | $105.7 million |
| Operating income (loss) | ($36.8 million) | ($2.3 million) | Not separately stated in the summary table | Not separately stated in the summary table |
| Net income (loss) | ($66.8 million) | ($14.6 million) | $44.4 million | $95.8 million |
| Adjusted EBITDA | $43.2 million | $72.0 million | $67.7 million | $112.1 million |
| Cash provided by (used in) operations | $93.8 million | ($24.4 million) | $106.3 million | $88.3 million |
FY 2020 non-GAAP net income was $12.8 million, compared with $35.3 million in 2019; Q4 non-GAAP net income was $61.1 million, compared with $102.5 million. These are company-defined non-GAAP measures and exclude specified costs and adjustments.
Camera units shipped fell 34% to 2.82 million for the year and 40% to 1.11 million in Q4. Average selling price rose 13% for the year to $316. GoPro.com revenue increased to $282.6 million, or 31.7% of annual revenue, from $141.1 million, or 11.8%, in 2019. Subscriber count reached 761,000 at year-end, up 145% year over year.
At December 31, 2020, cash and cash equivalents were $325.7 million, with a further $2.0 million classified as restricted cash; working capital was $294.0 million. Inventory declined to $97.9 million from $144.2 million. Total debt carrying value was $218.2 million. Outstanding note principal was $125.0 million due in 2022 and $143.8 million due in 2025. The company reported no borrowings under its then-current credit facility at year-end. In January 2021 it entered a new $50 million revolving facility.
Material changes versus the prior comparable period
- Annual revenue declined 25%, primarily amid pandemic-related disruption and temporary retailer closures; camera shipments declined 34%. The second half improved following the HERO9 Black launch and holiday sales.
- Gross margin increased 70 basis points for the year, mainly reflecting favorable camera mix and subscription growth, partly offset by higher operating costs and sales incentives. Q4 margin was down 20 basis points year over year, with tariff and logistics costs cited.
- Operating expenses declined 15% for the year, reflecting cost management and restructuring. Nevertheless, the operating loss widened substantially and GAAP net loss increased.
- Operating cash flow improved from a $24.4 million outflow to a $93.8 million inflow. Management attributed this to non-cash expenses and working-capital changes, including lower receivables and inventory, partly offset by lower payables and other liabilities.
- GoPro issued $143.8 million of 1.25% convertible notes due 2025, used $56.2 million to repurchase $50 million principal of its 2022 notes, and spent $10.2 million on capped calls.
Outlook, management commentary, risks and unusual items
The filing gives no specific revenue or earnings guidance. Management said it expects cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities to be sufficient for working capital, capital expenditures, commitments and other liquidity needs for at least one year from issuance of the financial statements. Its strategy emphasizes GoPro.com, subscriptions, software and product innovation, with profitability dependent in part on executing the direct-to-consumer transition and growing the subscriber base.
In April 2020, GoPro approved a restructuring targeting an approximately 20% global workforce reduction and office consolidation. It recorded $25.5 million of related charges, including a $12.5 million right-of-use asset impairment and $7.3 million of severance costs. The company reported 758 employees at year-end.
Key risks include continued COVID-19 and consumer-demand uncertainty; holiday-season and product-launch execution; reliance on cameras and a small number of retail customers; competition from smartphones and other camera makers; dependence on outsourced manufacturing and some sole-source components; tariffs, international exposure and foreign exchange; and cybersecurity, privacy and cloud-service disruption. Convertible-note obligations and credit-facility covenants may constrain liquidity or financing flexibility. GoPro stated it could not determine a loss range for the legal matters discussed. A proposed settlement of derivative claims remained subject to court approval; a patent case was scheduled for trial in May 2021, and the company said it intended to defend it.
The independent auditor gave unqualified opinions on the financial statements and internal control over financial reporting. The audit identified the headquarters lease right-of-use asset impairment assessment as a critical audit matter, focusing on the judgment involved in estimated sublease rates and market conditions.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Whether the improved second-half sales and cash generation can be sustained, especially given seasonality and the pandemic-related uncertainty.
- Whether GoPro.com growth and subscription expansion can offset lower retail and distributor sales while supporting margins and profitability.
- Cash requirements for the $125 million 2022 notes, the $143.8 million 2025 notes, and compliance with the new credit facility’s liquidity and covenant terms.
- Whether restructuring savings persist and whether facility consolidation or workforce reductions impair execution, product development or employee retention.
- Developments in the derivative-claim settlement and patent litigation, and any resulting financial or operational impact.