Norwood Financial Corp. — FY2018 Form 10-K
Business context and reporting period. This is the annual report for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2018, not a stand-alone fourth-quarter report. Norwood Financial is a bank holding company whose principal subsidiary, Wayne Bank, operates 26 branches in northeastern Pennsylvania and the Southern Tier of New York. At year-end, consolidated assets were $1.185 billion, deposits were $946.8 million, and stockholders’ equity was $122.3 million.
Financial performance and condition
The supplied filing text incorporates the detailed income statement, cash flow statement, and management discussion from a separate Annual Report but does not reproduce their figures. Revenue, net income, earnings per share, net interest margin, operating efficiency, and cash flow therefore cannot be stated clearly from this text.
| Metric | 2018 | 2017 | Change or context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $1.185 billion | Not stated here | Year-end balance |
| Gross loans | $850.3 million | $764.3 million | Up about 11.2% |
| Net loans | $841.7 million | $756.5 million | Up about 11.3% |
| Deposits | $946.8 million | Not stated here | Year-end balance; average deposits were $943.1 million versus $929.3 million |
| Stockholders’ equity | $122.3 million | Not stated here | Average equity to average assets was 10.15%, versus 10.34% |
| Available-for-sale securities | $243.3 million | $281.1 million | Down about 13.5%; portfolio carried at fair value |
| Allowance for loan losses | $8.452 million | $7.634 million | 0.99% of loans, versus 1.00% |
| Provision for loan losses | $1.725 million | $2.200 million | Down $475,000 |
| Net charge-offs | $907,000 | $1.029 million | 0.11% of average loans, versus 0.14% |
| Nonperforming assets | $2.255 million | $4.140 million | 0.19% of assets, versus 0.37% |
| Short-term borrowings, year-end | $53.046 million | $42.530 million | Average borrowing cost rose to 0.77% from 0.51% |
The Bank reported that it complied with applicable capital requirements and qualified as “well capitalized” under prompt corrective action rules; specific capital ratios are not provided in the supplied text. Total debt and cash-flow figures are also not clearly provided here.
Material changes versus the prior comparable period
- Loan growth was led in part by consumer loans, which increased to $112.0 million from $71.0 million; commercial real estate loans rose to $374.8 million from $342.9 million.
- Average time deposits increased to $322.8 million from $293.6 million, and their average rate paid rose to 1.27% from 0.98%. Average savings and money market balances declined.
- The securities portfolio contracted to $243.3 million from $281.1 million. The company disclosed $7.4 million of unrealized losses on investments at year-end.
- Credit quality measures improved: nonperforming loans fell to $1.140 million from $2.479 million, and foreclosed real estate declined to $1.115 million from $1.661 million. No new troubled debt restructuring relationships were identified in 2018.
- Assets under trust management decreased to $151.2 million from $157.8 million, partly due to stock market performance.
Outlook, risks, contingencies, and unusual items
- No specific earnings, growth, or margin guidance is stated in the supplied filing text. Management identifies interest-rate changes, deposit pricing and retention, liquidity, credit losses, and regional economic conditions as key uncertainties.
- Credit exposure is concentrated in real estate: approximately 73.8% of loans had real estate as a primary or secondary collateral component. Commercial real estate represented 44.1% of loans; commercial rentals and hospitality lodging were cited as significant lending concentrations.
- Management disclosed $2.7 million of loan participations indexed to LIBOR, which was expected to be phased out by the end of 2021; renegotiation depends on the lead banks.
- The company expected to adopt the CECL credit-loss standard for reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2019, potentially increasing allowance requirements and data demands.
- Wayne Bank planned to close its Lords Valley branch in March 2019 and expected to open a branch in Hanover Township in the second quarter of 2019.
- A legal dispute involving acquired Delaware Bancshares was settled and dismissed in July 2018; settlement terms or payment amounts are not stated. The filing reports no other material pending legal proceedings.
- The Bank held $9.8 million in brokered deposits through CDARS. Municipal deposits acquired through competitive bidding and large time deposits may reprice or leave as they mature.
- Cybersecurity, regulatory change, potential impairment of goodwill and investment securities, and the company’s geographically concentrated markets are disclosed risks. The company reported $11.7 million of goodwill and identifiable intangible assets.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Consult the incorporated Annual Report for FY2018 and FY2017 income statements, cash-flow statements, net interest margin, earnings per share, and management’s full discussion of results.
- Review the full liquidity and funding profile, including total borrowings, maturity schedules, uninsured and municipal deposits, and available borrowing capacity.
- Confirm regulatory capital ratios and the sensitivity of earnings and economic value to interest-rate scenarios.
- Assess loan growth and underwriting quality, particularly commercial real estate, hospitality, consumer and indirect lending concentrations, and the adequacy of the allowance.
- Review the nature and duration of the $7.4 million unrealized securities losses and any subsequent impairment or valuation changes.