Oragenics, Inc. — 2015 Form 10-K Summary
Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2015; the filing also presents unaudited fourth-quarter results. The company is a development-stage biotechnology business focused on lantibiotic antibiotics and oral mucositis treatments, alongside commercial oral probiotics.
Business and development
- Antibiotics: Oragenics selected OG253, a MU1140 lantibiotic homolog, as its lead candidate and held a pre-IND meeting with the FDA in November 2015. Subject to available capital, it expected to file an IND in the second half of 2016. The reported efficacy findings were from nonclinical studies, not human trials.
- Oral mucositis: AG013 had completed Phase 1 testing. In a Phase 1b study of 25 cancer patients, it was reported as safe and well tolerated; published data showed a 35% reduction in duration of ulcerative mucositis versus placebo, and nearly 30% of treated patients were full responders. The company said further studies would inform whether to proceed to Phase 2; an animal study was conducted in Q1 2016.
- Probiotics: ProBiora3 products were the company’s only source of product revenue. Oragenics had reduced marketing spending and was exploring strategic alternatives, including a partnership or sale. No transaction was assured.
- The company terminated its separate Live Biotherapeutic Products collaboration with Intrexon in September 2015 to focus resources on lantibiotics and oral mucositis.
Financial results and liquidity
| Metric | FY 2015 | FY 2014 | Q4 2015 | Q4 2014 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1.176 million | $0.940 million | $240,234 | $220,504 |
| Gross margin | 67.8% | 69.9% | 72.5% | 68.1% |
| Research and development | $8.803 million | $3.065 million | $1.344 million | $548,227 |
| Operating expenses | $12.346 million | $6.387 million | $2.344 million | $1.360 million |
| Net loss | $11.711 million | $5.790 million | $2.219 million | $1.224 million |
| Operating cash flow | $(5.104) million | $(5.559) million | Not stated | Not stated |
- Annual revenue rose 25.1%, but remained modest and came solely from probiotic product sales. R&D expense increased 187.2%; the increase included a $5 million Intrexon technology-access fee recorded through a convertible note.
- Cash and cash equivalents were $5.083 million at year-end, down from $10.449 million. Working capital was $4.590 million, versus $10.227 million a year earlier. Total assets were $5.778 million and shareholders’ equity was $4.731 million.
- Current liabilities were $1.047 million, including $63,352 of short-term notes payable. The filing reports no long-term debt at year-end. The $5 million Intrexon note, bearing 3% interest, was converted in December 2015 into 3,381,004 common shares, including accrued interest.
- Common shares outstanding increased to 39,858,540 at year-end from 36,178,944. The company reported an accumulated deficit of $87.656 million and no income-tax benefit, with a full valuation allowance against deferred tax assets.
Changes, outlook, and significant risks
- The net loss more than doubled year over year, primarily reflecting higher R&D spending and the technology-access fee. Probiotic revenue increased, but the gross margin declined annually.
- The auditor included a going-concern explanatory paragraph, citing recurring losses, negative operating cash flows, and the need for additional financing. Management said year-end cash was expected to fund operations as then structured only through June 2016. No committed financing was disclosed; additional funding might not be available on acceptable terms or at all.
- Management expected continued losses and higher development costs. There was no quantified revenue or earnings guidance. OG253’s planned IND filing and any Phase 2 development of AG013 were contingent on funding, study results, and regulatory progress.
- Key risks include financing and dilution, early-stage clinical and regulatory uncertainty, difficulty scaling lantibiotic manufacturing, dependence on Intrexon and contract suppliers, and uncertainty about a strategic outcome for the probiotic business. Intrexon collaboration terms include profit or revenue sharing and potential substantial milestone payments or share issuance; no relevant milestones had been achieved by year-end.
- The CEO position remained vacant; the CFO served as interim principal executive officer. Management reported disclosure controls and internal control over financial reporting effective as of year-end, after implementing measures addressing a prior segregation-of-duties weakness.
- The company reported no material pending legal proceedings. It had no dividend policy to pay dividends in the foreseeable future and reported no share repurchases in Q4.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Whether Oragenics obtained financing after the filing and how long available cash ultimately supported operations.
- Progress toward OG253’s IND filing, FDA feedback, and the reproducibility and relevance of its nonclinical findings.
- Whether AG013’s confirmatory study supported Phase 2 advancement, and the study design, endpoints, and funding plan.
- Manufacturing scale-up, supply availability, and the company’s ability to maintain or replace critical probiotic suppliers.
- Any transaction involving ProBiora3, and the resulting revenue, costs, or obligations.
- Potential dilution and cash commitments under the Intrexon agreements, alongside the impact of the company’s financing needs on existing shareholders.