Pennantpark Floating Rate Capital Ltd. current report, 01 April 2013

PennantPark Floating Rate Capital Ltd. - Form 8-K Summary

Business Context and Reporting Period

This Current Report on Form 8-K was filed on April 01, 2013, by PennantPark Floating Rate Capital Ltd. (the "Company"). The report details a material definitive agreement entered into on March 29, 2013, involving an amendment to the Company's revolving credit facility held by its wholly-owned subsidiary, PennantPark Floating Rate Funding I, LLC ("Funding I").

Key Financial Metrics and Debt Structure

The filing focuses on the restructuring of the Company's debt facility rather than reporting period-specific revenue or profit metrics. Key terms of the amended Credit Facility with SunTrust Bank include:

  • Facility Size: Increased from $100 million to $125 million.
  • Interest Rate: Reduced from 225 basis points to 200 basis points above the London Interbank Offer Rate (LIBOR).
  • Commitment Fee: Reduced (specific amount not disclosed in text).
  • Maturity Date: Extended to May 14, 2018.
  • Collateral: Secured by all assets held by Funding I.

The filing text does not provide clear values for revenue, net income, operating cash flow, or current liquidity ratios.

Material Changes Versus Prior Period

The primary material change is the expansion and cost reduction of the Company's borrowing capacity compared to the prior credit facility terms:

  • Increased total available credit by $25 million.
  • Lowered borrowing costs by 25 basis points.
  • Extended the maturity horizon by three years (from May 14, 2015, to May 14, 2018).

Outlook, Risks, and Management Commentary

The amendment reflects management's strategy to optimize capital structure and reduce financing costs. The Credit Facility includes customary covenants, specifically minimum asset coverage and minimum equity requirements. The filing notes that the description provided is a summary and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the full Credit Facility agreement. No specific risks or contingencies beyond standard covenant compliance are detailed in this excerpt.

Investor Verification Checklist

  • Verify the exact reduction amount of the undrawn Commitment Fee, as the specific figure is not stated in the text.
  • Review the full Credit Facility agreement (referenced in the filing) to understand the specific minimum asset coverage and equity covenant thresholds.
  • Confirm the utilization rate of the new $125 million facility to assess immediate liquidity needs.
  • Examine the attached Press Release (Exhibit 99.1) for additional management commentary on the strategic rationale.