Smartrent, Inc. current report, 14 May 2024

SmartRent, Inc. 8-K Summary

Business Context and Reporting Period

SmartRent, Inc. filed this Form 8-K on May 14, 2024, reporting the results of its 2024 Annual Meeting of Stockholders and related approval of an amended and restated equity incentive plan. The company is incorporated in Delaware and its Class A common stock trades on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol SMRT.

Financial and Operating Metrics

This filing does not report revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, debt, liquidity, or other operating or financial-period metrics.

Material Changes and Corporate Actions

  • Stockholders approved the amended and restated SmartRent, Inc. 2021 Equity Incentive Plan, including an increase in the number of shares reserved for issuance.
  • John Dorman and Lucas Haldeman were elected as Class III directors, each to serve until the 2027 annual meeting and until a successor is elected and qualified.
  • Stockholders ratified Deloitte & Touche LLP as the independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2024.

Voting Results

ProposalForAgainstAbstainedBroker Non-Votes
John Dorman election78,928,47628,805,488 withheldNot separately stated56,698,725
Lucas Haldeman election99,831,4597,902,505 withheldNot separately stated56,698,725
Deloitte & Touche ratification164,283,54055,51493,635Not reported
Equity incentive plan approval91,597,19313,901,7752,234,99656,698,725

Guidance, Outlook, Risks, and Unusual Items

The filing provides no financial guidance or operating outlook. The principal unusual item is the increase in shares available under the equity incentive plan, which may result in future equity awards and potential dilution; the filing text does not provide the revised share reserve or estimated dilution amount.

Key Facts to Verify

  • Review Exhibit 10.1 and the April 3, 2024 proxy statement for the amended share authorization, eligibility terms, and award limits under the equity incentive plan.
  • Assess the potential dilution from additional shares reserved for equity awards.
  • Confirm the directors’ committee assignments and the company’s fiscal 2024 audit arrangements with Deloitte & Touche LLP.
  • Use the company’s periodic financial filings for revenue, profitability, cash flow, debt, liquidity, and guidance information not included in this 8-K.