Aprea Therapeutics, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary
Reporting date: July 28, 2022; the report was signed August 2, 2022. The filing reports results of the company’s 2022 annual meeting of stockholders and does not provide quarterly or annual financial statements.
Business Context and Reporting Period
Aprea Therapeutics, Inc. is a Delaware corporation headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts, with common stock traded on Nasdaq under the symbol APRE. The filing concerns actions taken at the July 28, 2022 annual meeting.
Financial Metrics and Liquidity
The filing does not provide revenue, profitability, cash flow, margins, debt, liquidity, cash balance, or other operating financial metrics. It also does not include financial guidance.
Material Changes and Stockholder Actions
- Directors elected: Oren Gilad, Ph.D., John B. Henneman III, and Christian S. Schade were elected as Class III directors to serve until the 2025 annual meeting.
- Director appointments ratified: Stockholders ratified the appointments of Marc Duey, Michael Grissinger, and Rifat Pamukcu, M.D., for the remainder of their respective terms.
- Preferred-stock conversion approved: Stockholders approved issuance of common stock upon conversion of the Series A Non-Voting Convertible Preferred Stock issued May 16, 2022, as required under Nasdaq Listing Rule 5635(a).
- Reverse stock split not approved: Stockholders rejected proposed certificate amendments that would have authorized a 1-for-3 to 1-for-20 reverse stock split, with the final ratio determined by the board before December 31, 2022.
- Equity plan expanded: Stockholders approved an amendment to the 2019 Equity Incentive Plan authorizing an additional 2,000,000 common shares for issuance.
- Independent auditor ratified: Ernst & Young LLP was ratified as the independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2022.
Vote Results
| Proposal | For | Against | Withheld or Abstentions | Broker Non-Votes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class III director elections | 7,467,577–8,230,950 | Not applicable | 712,403–1,475,776 withheld | 4,549,748 |
| Ratification of recently appointed directors | 8,159,789–8,214,308 | 367,751–404,773 | 361,294–387,703 | X |
| Preferred-stock conversion issuance | 7,834,449 | 999,916 | 108,988 | X |
| Reverse stock split authorization | 11,248,289 | 2,180,239 | 64,573 | Not separately stated |
| 2019 Equity Incentive Plan amendment | 6,694,237 | 2,198,677 | 50,439 | X |
| Ernst & Young LLP ratification | 12,748,782 | 537,487 | 206,832 | Not separately stated |
Guidance, Risks, Contingencies, and Unusual Items
The principal corporate-action implications are the approved issuance of common stock upon conversion of Series A preferred stock and the 2,000,000-share increase under the equity incentive plan, both of which may affect future share capitalization. The proposed reverse stock split was not approved. The filing does not provide management outlook, operating risks, litigation contingencies, or other unusual financial items.
Investor Verification Items
- Verify the terms, conversion mechanics, and potential dilution associated with the Series A Non-Voting Convertible Preferred Stock.
- Confirm the effective use and remaining availability of the additional 2,000,000 shares under the 2019 Equity Incentive Plan.
- Monitor whether the board pursues another reverse stock split proposal after the stockholders’ rejection.
- Review subsequent filings for changes in share count, capital structure, cash runway, financing needs, and operating results, none of which are provided in this 8-K.