Beachbody Company, Inc. current report, 10 December 2023

Beachbody Company, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary

Business context and reporting period

The filing reports a securities financing transaction entered into on December 10, 2023, with the expected closing on December 13, 2023. The Beachbody Company, Inc. operates under the ticker BODY on the New York Stock Exchange. This Form 8-K does not report quarterly or annual operating results.

Financing and key financial metrics

  • The company agreed to sell 420,769 shares of Class A common stock at $9.75 per share.
  • It also agreed to issue pre-funded warrants for up to 122,821 shares. The warrants have an exercise price of $0.0001 per share, are immediately exercisable, and are sold at $9.7499 each.
  • In a concurrent private placement, the company agreed to issue common warrants for up to 543,590 shares. The warrants have an exercise price of $11.24 per share, become exercisable six months after issuance, and expire five and a half years after issuance.
  • Aggregate gross proceeds are approximately $5.3 million, before placement-agent fees and expenses. Net proceeds were not specified in the filing.
  • The placement agent is entitled to a cash fee equal to 6.0% of gross proceeds and reimbursement of eligible expenses, including legal fees, up to $50,000.
  • The company intends to use the net proceeds for general corporate purposes.
  • The filing does not provide revenue, profit, cash flow, margin, debt, liquidity, or other operating-period metrics.

Material changes versus the prior comparable period

No prior-period operating or financial information is presented, so comparative changes cannot be assessed. The material event is the planned issuance of common stock and warrants, which will result in immediate equity dilution from the shares and potential additional dilution if the pre-funded or common warrants are exercised.

Guidance, outlook, risks, contingencies, and unusual items

  • Closing remained subject to customary conditions as of the filing. The filing does not state whether the transaction had closed when the report was signed on December 13, 2023.
  • The company agreed, subject to exceptions, not to issue or announce additional common stock or common-stock equivalents, or file related registration statements, for 90 days after closing.
  • The company also agreed not to enter into or effect variable-rate transactions for one year after closing.
  • The company, executive officers, directors, and certain stockholders agreed to 90-day lock-up restrictions, subject to specified exceptions.
  • The common warrants and underlying shares are unregistered and are being issued under private-placement exemptions from Securities Act registration.
  • The filing contains no specific financial guidance. Generic forward-looking statements refer to future performance, cost savings opportunities, business strategy, and operations, and are subject to risks including competition, reliance on key products, market and economic conditions, litigation, and intellectual-property protection.

Most important facts for investors to verify

  1. Whether the offering closed on December 13, 2023 and the actual net proceeds received after fees and expenses.
  2. The final number of shares issued and pre-funded warrants outstanding, including any beneficial-ownership limitations affecting exercise.
  3. The potential dilution represented by the 543,590 common warrants and the terms governing their exercise.
  4. How the approximately $5.3 million of proceeds will be allocated and whether it materially affects liquidity.
  5. Subsequent filings for updated cash balances, debt obligations, operating losses, liquidity risks, and any additional equity financing.