Hawthorn Bancshares, Inc. — 2022 Form 10-K Summary
Business context and reporting period. This filing covers the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022; it is an annual report, not a standalone fourth-quarter report. Hawthorn Bancshares is a Missouri bank holding company whose principal subsidiary, Hawthorn Bank, operates 23 banking offices and provides commercial and consumer banking, lending, and trust services, primarily in central and west-central Missouri. The filing incorporates the company’s 2022 Annual Report by reference; that report’s detailed financial statements and management discussion are not included in the supplied text.
Financial performance and condition
- Revenue, earnings, cash flow, margins, debt, and liquidity: The supplied filing text does not provide clear values for these metrics. Refer to the incorporated 2022 Annual Report and financial statement notes for the consolidated results and balance-sheet details.
- Capital: At December 31, 2022, the Company reported a 10.76% Tier 1 leverage ratio, 9.89% CET1 risk-based ratio, 12.52% Tier 1 risk-based ratio, and 13.85% total risk-based ratio. Hawthorn Bank was classified as “well-capitalized,” with ratios of 10.85%, 12.80%, 12.80%, and 13.78%, respectively. The filing states the Company was in compliance with capital adequacy guidelines.
- Interest-rate sensitivity: Management’s models estimated that annual net interest income could change by as much as 3.01% if rates rose 200 basis points, or 5.80% if rates fell 200 basis points, over a one-year period. These are modeled estimates, not reported results.
- Other disclosed amounts: HB Realty held mortgage loans with approximate aggregate book value of $582.9 million at year-end. At December 31, 2022, $10.0 million of loans were tied to LIBOR.
Material changes versus the prior comparable period
- The supplied text does not include the comparative income statement, balance sheet, or cash-flow figures needed to quantify year-over-year changes.
- Effective September 30, 2022, mortgage-loan participation interests held by HB Realty were converted into mortgage loans owned by HB Realty to meet Federal Home Loan Bank collateral eligibility requirements; thereafter, HB Realty was to acquire mortgage loans, not participation interests, from the Bank.
- The Company reported no share repurchases during the fourth quarter of 2022. Its 2019 repurchase authorization had $2.1 million remaining at year-end.
Outlook, commentary, risks, and unusual items
- Outlook: The filing provides no specific earnings or revenue guidance. Management cautions that forward-looking statements are uncertain and identifies competition, interest-rate changes, local and broader economic conditions, credit quality, and regulatory or tax changes as factors that could affect results.
- Credit and economic risks: The Company is concentrated in Missouri markets and is exposed to weaker local conditions, falling collateral values, borrower stress, and potential increases in delinquencies, charge-offs, and loan-loss provisions. Management also cites inflation and rising interest rates among current economic conditions.
- Funding and liquidity risks: The Bank relies principally on customer deposits, including brokered deposits, and to a lesser extent FHLB advances and federal funds purchased. The filing warns that market or institution-specific conditions could impair access to funding; it does not provide clear liquidity balances in the supplied text.
- CECL adoption: The Company adopted the current expected credit loss standard effective January 1, 2023. It expected a one-time increase to the allowance for loan losses through a retained-earnings adjustment, but the amount is not stated here. Management believed the transition would not materially affect capital adequacy requirements, business strategies, or practices.
- Other risks: The filing discusses cybersecurity and third-party technology risks, deposit competition, regulatory and compliance exposure, severe weather and other external events, and the planned LIBOR transition. The financial impact of these items is not quantified in the supplied text.
- Controls and audit: Management concluded disclosure controls and internal control over financial reporting were effective at December 31, 2022. KPMG issued an unqualified opinion on the consolidated financial statements and an unqualified opinion on internal control over financial reporting.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Review the incorporated 2022 Annual Report for revenue, net income, diluted EPS, net interest margin, provision and allowance for credit losses, cash flows, deposits, borrowings, and liquidity measures, including year-over-year comparisons.
- Check the full loan and securities disclosures for portfolio composition, nonperforming assets, concentration, unrealized losses, and sensitivity to economic and interest-rate changes.
- Verify the actual opening CECL allowance and retained-earnings adjustment recorded in 2023, and compare those amounts with management’s stated expectations.
- Assess funding concentration and availability, including brokered deposits, FHLB capacity, and deposit repricing, as well as the effect of rate changes on net interest income.
- Confirm subsequent developments in the LIBOR transition and the status of remaining share-repurchase authorization.