PureCycle Technologies, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary
Business context and reporting period
This Form 8-K reports actions taken at PureCycle Technologies, Inc.’s annual meeting of stockholders held May 10, 2023. The filing was signed and filed May 15, 2023. It concerns corporate governance, charter and bylaw amendments, director elections, auditor ratification, and executive compensation voting; it does not report quarterly or annual financial results.
Financial metrics and liquidity
The filing does not provide revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, debt, liquidity, guidance, or other operating-financial metrics.
- As of the March 24, 2023 record date, 163,638,505 common shares were issued, outstanding, and entitled to vote.
- At the annual meeting, 129,198,737 shares, or 78.95%, were present or represented by proxy, constituting a quorum.
Material changes and governance actions
- Stockholders approved declassification of the Board, making directors subject to annual election. The amendment became effective at the annual meeting.
- Stockholders approved a majority voting standard for uncontested director elections, an increase in authorized common shares, and miscellaneous charter updates. These amendments became effective shortly after the meeting upon filing with the Delaware Secretary of State.
- Amended bylaws adopted majority voting for uncontested director elections, require nominees receiving more “against” than “for” votes to tender their resignation, address universal proxy requirements, and incorporate other legal updates.
- Eight directors were elected for one-year terms ending at the 2024 annual meeting: Steven Bouck, Tanya Burnell, Daniel Coombs, Jeffrey Fieler, Allen Jacoby, Fernando Musa, Dustin Olson, and Dr. John Scott.
- Dr. John Scott subsequently notified the Board on May 12, 2023, that he was resigning immediately for health-related reasons. The filing states that the resignation was not due to disagreement with the Company or management.
Annual meeting vote results
| Proposal | For | Against or withheld | Abstain | Broker non-votes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Board declassification | 112,781,385 | 67,922 | 30,477 | 16,318,953 |
| Majority voting standard | 112,786,321 | 81,262 | 30,201 | 16,318,953 |
| Officer exculpation amendment | 99,112,505 | 13,730,893 | 36,386 | 16,318,953 |
| Increase authorized common shares | 124,024,691 | 4,682,401 | 491,645 | Not reported |
| Other charter updates | 112,684,052 | 112,178 | 83,554 | 16,318,953 |
| Auditor ratification | 129,044,397 | 73,291 | 81,049 | Not reported |
| Advisory executive compensation approval | 108,169,242 | 4,648,941 | 61,601 | Not reported |
| Compensation vote frequency: one year | 111,173,564 | 56,561 for two years; 1,591,996 for three years | 57,663 | 16,318,953 |
Outlook, risks, and unusual items
The filing provides no business or financial outlook. Key governance-related items include the increased authorization for common shares, which could facilitate future equity issuance and potential dilution, and the Board’s transition to annual elections. The filing identifies Dr. Scott’s health-related resignation as an unusual personnel event but states that it was not related to a dispute with the Company.
Investor verification checklist
- Verify the final number of authorized common shares and the potential dilution implications of the charter amendment.
- Confirm the current Board composition following Dr. Scott’s May 12 resignation and any subsequent replacement or vacancy action.
- Review Exhibits 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3 for the operative charter and bylaw language.
- Confirm whether the Company subsequently disclosed the Board’s response to the majority-vote resignation provisions.
- Review later filings for financial results, liquidity, financing needs, operational progress, and updated risk factors, none of which are provided in this Form 8-K.