Phathom Pharmaceuticals, Inc. current report, 25 May 2022

Phathom Pharmaceuticals, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary

Business context and reporting period

Phathom Pharmaceuticals filed a Form 8-K reporting matters from its 2022 Annual Meeting of Stockholders held on May 25, 2022. The company is a Delaware corporation whose common stock trades on Nasdaq under the symbol PHAT.

Financial and operating metrics

This filing does not provide revenue, profit, cash flow, margin, debt, liquidity, or other operating financial results. It is focused on stockholder voting and director compensation.

Material changes versus the prior comparable period

  • Stockholders elected Heidi Kunz and David Socks as Class III directors for three-year terms expiring at the 2025 annual meeting, subject to successor qualification.
  • Stockholders ratified Ernst & Young LLP as the independent registered public accounting firm for fiscal 2022.
  • The Board increased the annual retainer for each non-employee director from $40,000 to $50,000.
  • The initial equity grant for a new non-employee director increased from options to purchase 20,000 shares to 30,000 shares.
  • The annual equity grant for each non-employee director increased from options to purchase 12,500 shares to 15,000 shares.

Governance, compensation, and unusual items

Additional annual retainers under the amended director compensation program are $20,000 for the audit committee chair, $15,000 for the compensation committee chair, and $10,000 for the nominating and corporate governance committee chair. Committee members receive additional retainers of $10,000, $7,500, and $5,000, respectively. The non-executive Board chair receives an additional $40,000 annual retainer.

Initial director options vest one-third on the first anniversary of the grant date, with the remainder vesting quarterly over the following 24 months. Annual director options vest on the earlier of the first anniversary of the grant date or the next annual stockholder meeting, subject to continued Board service. The company stated that it intends to file the amended program as an exhibit to its Form 10-Q for the quarter ending June 30, 2022.

Voting results

ProposalForAgainst or withheldAbstentionsBroker non-votes
Election of Heidi Kunz19,413,1464,775,698 withheldNot separately stated5,219,941
Election of David Socks21,235,3552,953,489 withheldNot separately stated5,219,941
Ratification of Ernst & Young LLP29,405,9822,245558Not stated

Key facts investors should verify

  • Review the amended non-employee director compensation program when it is filed with the June 30, 2022 Form 10-Q.
  • Assess the potential dilution and stock-based compensation expense associated with the increased director option grants.
  • Confirm the vesting terms, grant-date fair values, and accounting treatment of the director options in subsequent filings.
  • Monitor the company’s future proxy statements for director composition, compensation, and committee assignments.
  • Note that this filing provides no updated financial guidance, liquidity information, clinical or commercial outlook, or material risk update.