Vivosim Labs, INC. annual report, FY2012

Business context and reporting period

The supplied filing is Organovo Holdings, Inc.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, filed March 15, 2013. It does not identify Vivosim Labs, Inc.; the company-name discrepancy should be confirmed. Although the request says “2012 Q4,” this is an annual report, not a quarterly filing. Organovo was a development-stage 3D-bioprinting company pursuing research tools, collaborative drug-development work, and potential regenerative-medicine products. A February 2012 reverse merger brought Organovo, Inc.’s business into the public company; the financial statements reflect Organovo, Inc.’s historical results before the merger.

Financial results and liquidity

Amounts below are in millions of dollars unless stated otherwise.

  • Revenue: $1.197 in 2012, up 24% from $0.969 in 2011. Collaboration revenue rose to $1.035 from $0.688; grant revenue was $0.162 versus $0.057. Product revenue was zero in 2012, compared with $0.224 in 2011.
  • Operating results: Operating expenses were $10.516, versus $3.153 in 2011; research and development expense was $3.436 versus $1.420, and selling, general and administrative expense was $7.080 versus $1.733. Operating loss widened to $9.319 from $2.305.
  • Net loss: $43.553, compared with $4.383 in 2011; basic and diluted loss per share was $1.01 versus $0.19. The 2012 result included $34.234 of other expense, notably warrant-related fair-value and issuance accounting, financing transaction costs, and warrant inducement expense. Significant warrant charges were non-cash.
  • Cash flow: Operating cash use was $9.693, investing cash use $0.445, and financing cash provided $24.615. Cash and cash equivalents ended the year at $14.817, compared with $0.340 at year-end 2011.
  • Liquidity and obligations: Current assets were $15.866 and current liabilities $22.035, a $6.169 working-capital deficit. Total liabilities were $22.052, including $20.619 of current warrant derivative liabilities; conventional borrowings were not reported as outstanding at year-end. Stockholders’ deficit was $5.303. The company also reported $1.669 of future minimum operating lease payments.
  • Margins: Gross margin is not meaningfully comparable: 2012 product revenue and product cost were both zero, while 2011 included product revenue of $0.224 and cost of $0.121.

Material changes versus 2011

  • Revenue increased modestly, led by collaboration and grant work, while product revenue fell to zero.
  • Operating expenses more than tripled as the company expanded research and administrative staffing, moved to a larger facility, and incurred costs associated with becoming public. Management cited approximately $3.2 million of incremental non-payroll public-company costs and $2.0 million of higher payroll expense.
  • Net loss rose sharply, primarily because of warrant accounting and transaction-related charges rather than a comparable increase in operating cash use alone.
  • Cash rose following equity financing and warrant exercises. The company completed a private placement with gross proceeds of approximately $13.7 million and a December warrant tender that raised approximately $7.7 million.

Outlook, risks, contingencies, and unusual items

  • Management said available cash and its operating plan were expected to fund operations for at least the next 12 months, while also stating that further capital would be needed for product development and commercialization. No quantified revenue, earnings, or other financial guidance was provided.
  • The company had a limited operating history, cumulative net losses of $50.2 million, and no significant revenue from planned principal operations. Profitability and commercial adoption were uncertain.
  • Funding, collaboration, technology validation, intellectual-property protection, competition, and the lengthy and uncertain regulatory process for therapeutic products were key risks. NIH warned that sequestration could reduce, delay, or cancel grant funding.
  • Warrant liabilities were valued using Level 3 inputs and a Monte Carlo model. Their remeasurement can create substantial quarter-to-quarter earnings volatility. At year-end, the reported warrant liability was $20.6 million.
  • Subsequent to year-end, the company reported that approximately 2.4 million redeemable warrants were exercised by March 14, 2013, generating approximately $2.3 million. It also announced a January 2013 cancer-model collaboration with Oregon Health & Science University.
  • The independent auditor gave an unqualified opinion on the financial statements. The auditor was not engaged to audit internal control over financial reporting. Management reported disclosure controls effective at year-end; material legal proceedings were not reported.

Important facts for investors to verify

  • Confirm the filing belongs to the intended issuer: the document is for Organovo Holdings, Inc., not Vivosim Labs, Inc.
  • Reconcile the $43.6 million net loss with the $9.3 million operating loss, focusing on warrant-liability valuation and other non-cash or transaction-related charges.
  • Review the warrant agreements, outstanding warrant share count, subsequent exercises, and potential dilution; the filing reports different warrant counts at different dates and contexts.
  • Assess cash runway against the $9.7 million annual operating cash use, working-capital deficit, future development spending, and management’s stated need for additional capital.
  • Track whether collaborations and grant funding convert into sustained revenue, and whether the bioprinting platform produces commercially accepted, regulatory-supportable products.