AEON Biopharma, Inc. current report, 29 June 2023

AEON Biopharma, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary

Filing date: June 29, 2023. The filing was made by Priveterra Acquisition Corp., the SPAC party to the proposed business combination with AEON Biopharma, Inc. At closing, Priveterra expected to change its name to AEON Biopharma, Inc. The filing reports transaction financing and related agreements; it does not provide a current operating-period financial statement for AEON.

Business Context and Reporting Period

  • Priveterra and AEON entered into a business combination agreement on December 12, 2022. Priveterra Merger Sub is expected to merge with AEON, with AEON surviving as a wholly owned subsidiary.
  • The June 29, 2023 Form 8-K supplements prior merger disclosures and describes financing arrangements entered into in connection with the proposed closing.
  • The filing does not specify a financial reporting quarter or year-to-date reporting period.

Key Financial and Capitalization Metrics

ItemReported amount or terms
New money PIPE1,000,000 shares at $7.00 per share; gross proceeds of $7 million.
FPA funding PIPEUp to 7,500,000 shares, reduced by shares purchased by the investors in the open market.
Forward purchase transactionsSellers intend, but are not obligated, to purchase up to 7,500,000 shares in aggregate, subject to recycled shares, ownership limits and other adjustments.
Original committed financing$20 million of interim notes convertible into 2,857,143 shares at $7.00 per share.
Additional financing by Alphaeon 1 LLC$20 million of interim notes convertible into 2,857,143 shares at $7.00 per share.
Additional financing by Daewoong$5 million of interim notes convertible into 714,285 shares at $7.00 per share.
Potential committed financing totalThe described commitments total $45 million of interim notes and approximately 6,428,571 related shares, subject to the agreements, funding and closing conditions.
Structuring fee75,000 shares to ACM ASOF VIII Secondary-C LP under the new money PIPE arrangements.
Forward purchase reset floorInitially $7.00 per share, subject to specified reset provisions; the floor may be eliminated in certain issuances.

The filing provides no revenue, net income, operating margin, cash-flow, balance-sheet debt, cash, liquidity, or working-capital figures for AEON or Priveterra. It also does not present historical-period comparisons.

Material Changes Versus Prior Disclosures

  • Alphaeon 1 amended its note subscription arrangement on June 23, 2023 to add $20 million of interim notes, in addition to its previously described $15 million subscription.
  • Daewoong agreed on June 27, 2023 to purchase an additional $5 million of convertible interim notes.
  • On June 29, 2023, Priveterra entered into forward purchase agreements and related PIPE agreements involving up to 7.5 million shares, plus a separate $7 million new-money PIPE for 1 million shares.
  • The additional financing increases potential share issuance and dilution associated with the business combination.
  • A proxy supplement was filed to provide updated information regarding these financing arrangements. The filing states that the special meeting date, location, record date, redemption deadline and other proposals were unchanged.

Outlook, Risks, Contingencies and Unusual Items

  • Closing of the merger remained subject to stockholder approval and other customary closing conditions. The filing does not state that the merger had closed as of June 29, 2023.
  • Forward purchase sellers may terminate portions of their arrangements. Settlement terms depend on future share prices, VWAP calculations, registration status and other specified events.
  • The forward purchase agreements include a two-year valuation framework and may permit earlier valuation following specified VWAP, delisting, registration or other termination events.
  • Investors in the new-money PIPE may receive additional shares from the sponsor, capped at 400,000 shares, if transferred shares trade below $7.00 during the applicable measurement period.
  • The PIPE securities were to be issued without registration under the Securities Act pursuant to Section 4(a)(2), subject to the terms of the agreements.
  • Each forward purchase seller agreed to waive redemption rights for recycled shares, which could reduce redemptions and affect the transaction’s ownership and capitalization profile.
  • Key disclosed risks include failure to complete the merger, litigation, inability to meet listing standards, dilution, regulatory and clinical-development risks, product commercialization risk, competition, intellectual-property risks, dependence on management and employees, and AEON’s ability to achieve profitability.

Most Important Facts for Investors to Verify

  • Whether the merger closed and the actual post-closing legal entity, ticker, capitalization and ownership structure.
  • The amount of cash ultimately raised and funded under the interim notes and PIPE agreements.
  • The number of shares issued, recycled, redeemed and outstanding after closing, including the 75,000-share structuring fee and any sponsor make-whole shares.
  • The final terms, accounting treatment and potential dilution from the forward purchase agreements and convertible interim notes.
  • AEON’s latest revenue, operating expenses, cash balance, cash burn, debt, liquidity runway and clinical or regulatory milestones, which are not provided in this filing.
  • The effectiveness of any resale registration statement and the impact of registration failures, VWAP triggers or other termination events.