Franklin BSP Realty Trust, Inc. current report, 30 May 2019

Business Context and Reporting Period

Company: Benefit Street Partners Realty Trust, Inc. (Franklin BSP Realty Trust, Inc.)
Filing Type: Form 8-K (Current Report)
Date of Report: May 30, 2019
Event: Entry into a Material Definitive Agreement and Creation of a Direct Financial Obligation via a commercial real estate mortgage securitization.

Key Financial Metrics

Transaction Size: Approximately $690.7 million in aggregate principal notes issued.
Collateral Portfolio:

  • Eight commercial/multifamily whole loans.
  • One mezzanine loan.
  • 33 fully-funded senior or pari passu participations.
  • Aggregate principal balance of collateral: ~$690.7 million.
  • Additional $119.3 million allocated for future asset acquisition during the ramp-up period.
Use of Proceeds: Repayment of current credit facility borrowings, funding future loans/investments, and general corporate purposes.
Accounting Treatment: The Company accounts for the issuance as a financing on its balance sheet, retaining preferred equity of the Issuer.

Note Structure and Terms

Note Class Principal Amount Interest Rate (Spread + 1-mo LIBOR) Weighted Average Life
Class A (Senior Secured) $407,025,000 1.15% 3.37 years
Class A-S (Second Priority) $76,950,000 1.48% 4.65 years
Class B (Third Priority) $50,000,000 1.40% 4.91 years
Class C (Fourth Priority) $61,374,000 2.00% 4.96 years
Class D (Fifth Priority) $48,600,000 2.40% 4.96 years
Class E (Sixth Priority) $20,250,000 2.85% 4.96 years
Class F (Seventh Priority) $17,212,000 Not specified in text Not specified in text
Class G (Eighth Priority) $12,149,000 Not specified in text Not specified in text
Class H (Ninth Priority) $21,263,000 Not specified in text Not specified in text

Maturity Date: May 15, 2029 (unless redeemed earlier).
Interest Payment Start: June 17, 2019.

Material Changes and Obligations

The filing represents a significant shift in the Company's capital structure, replacing existing credit facility borrowings with a securitized debt structure. The Notes are limited recourse obligations of the Issuer, payable solely from cash flow generated by the Portfolio and other pledged assets. The Company retains the preferred equity of the Issuer, effectively keeping the assets on its balance sheet.

Guidance, Risks, and Contingencies

Servicing Fees:

  • Servicer (Situs Asset Management LLC): 0.04% per annum of outstanding principal + $1,000 monthly reporting fee + late charges/investment income.
  • Special Servicer (Situs Holdings, LLC): 0.25% per annum on specially serviced assets + 1.00% workout fee on collections or 1.00% liquidation fee on proceeds (not both).
Redemption Provisions:
  • Optional Redemption: Available quarterly starting July 2027.
  • Clean-up Call: Mandatory if outstanding principal drops to 10% of original issuance.
  • Mandatory Redemption: Triggered if certain Indenture tests are not satisfied.
  • Tax Redemption: Mandatory if the Issuer becomes subject to U.S. income taxes or withholding taxes.
Risks and Contingencies:
  • Recourse Limitation: No obligation for shareholders, officers, or directors to pay if cash flow is insufficient.
  • Repurchase Obligation: If representations/warranties regarding mortgage assets are materially inaccurate, the seller (Company subsidiary) must repurchase affected assets at par plus accrued interest.
  • Investment Company Act: An event of default occurs if the Issuer is required to register as an investment company.
  • REIT Status: An event of default occurs if the Issuer loses its status as a qualified REIT subsidiary.
Financial Outlook: The filing does not provide specific revenue or profit guidance for the reporting period, focusing solely on the execution of the securitization transaction.

Key Facts for Investor Verification

  • Verify the exact interest rate spreads for Class F, G, and H notes, as they are not explicitly detailed in the summary text.
  • Confirm the specific terms of the "current credit facilities" being repaid with the $690.7 million proceeds.
  • Review the full Indenture (Exhibit 10.1) for detailed definitions of the "certain tests" that trigger mandatory redemption.
  • Assess the composition and credit quality of the 33 participations and the 8 whole loans comprising the initial Portfolio.
  • Monitor the "ramp-up acquisition period" to ensure the $119.3 million is deployed as intended for additional mortgage assets.