Business Context and Reporting Period
This Form 8-K was filed by Benefit Street Partners Realty Trust, Inc. (also referred to as Franklin BSP Realty Trust, Inc.) on April 5, 2018. The filing reports the entry into a material definitive agreement and the creation of a direct financial obligation through a commercial real estate mortgage securitization transaction.
Key Financial Metrics and Transaction Details
The Company's consolidated subsidiaries issued notes with an aggregate principal amount of approximately $488.0 million in a private placement. The transaction is structured as a financing on the Company's balance sheet.
- Total Principal Issued: Approximately $488.0 million.
- Collateral Portfolio: Secured by nine whole loans and 19 participations with an aggregate principal balance of approximately $522.1 million, plus $87.85 million reserved for future acquisitions.
- Use of Proceeds: Primarily to repay borrowings under current credit facilities, fund future loans and investments, and for general corporate purposes.
- Interest Rates (Initial): Floating rates based on one-month LIBOR plus a spread ranging from 1.050% (Class A) to 3.450% (Class D).
- Maturity Date: March 15, 2028.
- Weighted Average Life: Ranges from 2.97 years (Class A) to 5.24 years (Class D).
| Note Class | Principal Amount | Spread over LIBOR |
|---|---|---|
| Class A | $286,700,000 | 1.050% |
| Class A-S | $77,775,000 | 1.350% |
| Class B | $41,175,000 | 1.650% |
| Class C | $39,650,000 | 2.550% |
| Class D | $42,700,000 | 3.450% |
| Class E | $36,600,000 | Not specified in text |
| Class F | $21,350,000 | Not specified in text |
Material Changes and Obligations
The filing represents a significant change in the Company's capital structure, introducing a new $488.0 million debt obligation. The notes are limited recourse obligations of the Issuer, payable solely from the cash flow generated by the Portfolio and other pledged assets. The Company retained the preferred equity of the Issuer. The filing does not provide comparative financial metrics (revenue, profit, cash flow) for the prior period as this is a current report regarding a specific transaction rather than a periodic financial statement.
Outlook, Risks, and Contingencies
Management Commentary and Outlook: The Company intends to own the Portfolio until maturity. It is anticipated that the Notes will be paid in advance of the stated maturity date, though this depends on collateral characteristics such as prepayments and defaults.
Risks and Contingencies:
- Recourse Limitation: Payments are limited to cash flow from the Portfolio; shareholders and officers have no further obligation if cash flow is insufficient.
- Repurchase Obligation: If representations or warranties regarding the mortgage assets are materially inaccurate, the seller (a subsidiary of the Company) may be compelled to repurchase affected assets.
- Redemption Triggers: Mandatory redemption may occur if certain tests are not satisfied, if the Issuer loses its status as a qualified REIT subsidiary, or if tax events occur.
- Servicing Fees: The Servicer receives 0.04% per annum plus reporting fees; the Special Servicer receives 0.25% per annum plus potential workout or liquidation fees.
Key Facts for Investor Verification
- Verify the specific interest rate spreads for Class E and Class F notes, which are not explicitly detailed in the summary text.
- Confirm the exact amount of existing credit facility debt being repaid with the $488.0 million proceeds.
- Review the full Indenture (Exhibit 10.1) for detailed covenants, events of default, and the specific "tests" that trigger mandatory redemption.
- Assess the credit quality and geographic concentration of the $522.1 million collateral portfolio.
- Monitor the "ramp-up acquisition period" to ensure the $87.85 million reserve is utilized effectively for additional mortgage assets.