Business Context and Reporting Period
Kodiak Gas Services, Inc. filed this Form 8-K on January 29, 2024, under Items 2.02, 7.01, and 9.01. The filing disclosed preliminary estimated unaudited financial results for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2023 and announced a private offering by its wholly owned subsidiary, Kodiak Gas Services, LLC, of $750 million aggregate principal amount of senior unsecured notes due 2029.
Key Financial Metrics
| Metric | Preliminary 2023 range |
|---|---|
| Revenue | $846 million–$851 million |
| Net income | $20 million–$24 million |
| Adjusted EBITDA | $438 million–$443 million |
| Maintenance capital expenditures | $36 million–$38 million |
| Growth capital expenditures | $172 million–$176 million |
| Net interest expense | $220 million–$224 million |
| Income tax expense | $14 million–$17 million |
| Depreciation and amortization | $181 million–$185 million |
| Loss on extinguishment of debt | $7 million |
| Gain on derivatives | $18 million–$22 million |
Implied adjusted EBITDA margin was approximately 51.6%–52.2%, and implied net income margin was approximately 2.4%–2.8%, based on the disclosed ranges. Cash flow, total debt, cash balances, and liquidity were not provided in the filing.
Growth capital expenditures include $12 million–$16 million of non-unit growth capital expenditures and $3.8 million of fourth-quarter 2023 corporate-office leasehold improvements expected to be reimbursed through a tenant improvement allowance. The disclosed growth capital expenditure range excludes $8.6 million related to purchasing and expanding previously leased operating facilities.
Changes, Outlook, and Risks
- The filing does not provide a prior comparable period or a clear year-over-year variance analysis.
- The preliminary results are management estimates, have not been audited or reviewed by BDO USA, P.C., and may change after financial closing procedures and the audit.
- The company launched a private offering of $750 million of senior unsecured notes due 2029. The notes are being offered to qualified institutional buyers under Rule 144A and non-U.S. persons under Regulation S.
- Management did not provide formal earnings guidance beyond the preliminary 2023 ranges. The filing does not state the intended use of proceeds or the final terms of the notes.
- Reported results include unusual or non-operating items, including a debt-extinguishment loss, derivative gain, equity compensation expense, transaction expenses, and a gain on asset sales.
- Investors are cautioned not to treat the preliminary estimates as a substitute for GAAP financial statements. The audited 2023 financial statements were expected in the company’s Form 10-K after completion of the offering.
Facts Investors Should Verify
- Final audited 2023 revenue, net income, adjusted EBITDA, capital expenditures, and related reconciliation in the Form 10-K.
- Final principal amount, interest rate, covenants, maturity terms, guarantees, and use of proceeds for the 2029 notes.
- Year-end total debt, cash, availability under credit facilities, and liquidity after the debt offering.
- Actual operating and free cash flow, which are not disclosed in this Form 8-K.
- The filing’s adjusted EBITDA reconciliation contains an apparent presentation inconsistency: the net income row shows $24 million in the low-range column and $20 million in the high-range column, opposite the stated net income range. This should be verified against the final offering materials or Form 10-K.