Atea Pharmaceuticals, Inc. — FY2020 Form 10-K Summary
Business context and reporting period
Atea is a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company developing oral antiviral candidates for COVID-19, dengue, chronic hepatitis C and respiratory syncytial virus. This filing covers the fiscal year ended December 31, 2020; the source does not provide separate fourth-quarter results.
- Lead candidate: AT-527 for COVID-19, developed with Roche.
- Other candidates: AT-752 for dengue, AT-787 for HCV and AT-889 for RSV.
- The company has no approved products and no product-sales revenue.
- Common stock began trading on Nasdaq under “AVIR” on October 30, 2020.
Financial performance and liquidity
| Metric | 2020 | 2019 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Collaboration revenue | $48.6 million | None | +$48.6 million |
| Research and development expense | $38.0 million | $10.2 million | +$27.9 million |
| General and administrative expense | $21.6 million | $4.4 million | +$17.2 million |
| Loss from operations | $(11.0) million | $(14.6) million | Improved by $3.6 million |
| Net loss | $(10.9) million | $(14.0) million | Improved by $3.1 million |
| Net loss per share | $(0.51) | $(1.39) | Improved |
| Net cash provided by operating activities | $296.7 million | $(12.8) million | +$309.6 million |
| Cash and cash equivalents at year-end | $850.1 million | $21.7 million | +$828.5 million |
Reported operating margin was approximately negative 22.7% of collaboration revenue, but this is not a product gross margin measure because the revenue primarily reflects Roche license-related performance obligations rather than commercial product sales. Gross margin was not separately reported.
- 2020 research and development spending included $23.0 million of COVID-19 external costs, $2.2 million for dengue, $1.8 million for HCV, $1.1 million for RSV and $9.9 million of internal costs.
- Cash flow benefited primarily from the Roche upfront payment and a $301.4 million increase in deferred revenue, rather than recurring operating profitability.
- Financing cash inflows were $531.7 million, including $214.1 million from preferred-stock issuances and $317.6 million of net IPO proceeds.
- Total liabilities were $315.8 million, including $301.4 million of deferred revenue. The filing does not disclose material interest-bearing debt.
- Management expected cash and cash equivalents at December 31, 2020 to fund planned operations through at least 2023, subject to development spending and other assumptions.
Material changes versus the prior comparable period
- Atea entered into the Roche License Agreement in October 2020 and received a $350.0 million upfront payment in November. It recognized $48.6 million as collaboration revenue and recorded $301.4 million as deferred revenue.
- Roche received exclusive development and commercialization rights outside the United States for covered products, subject to specified HCV and retained-indication rights. Roche is also expected to manufacture commercial AT-527 supply if approved.
- R&D expense increased 274% to $38.0 million as COVID-19 development accelerated, while G&A increased 388% to $21.6 million due to organizational expansion, public-company costs and Roche-related professional fees.
- The company completed its IPO, issuing 14.375 million shares at $24.00 per share for $317.6 million of net proceeds. All convertible preferred stock converted into 57.9 million common shares.
- Stock-based compensation rose to $7.5 million from $0.6 million, including a $2.0 million expense related to modifying former-employee options.
- The HCV development program remained paused because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Guidance, outlook, commentary and risks
- Atea and Roche expected to initiate the AT-527 Phase 3 MORNINGSKY outpatient trial in the second quarter of 2021, targeting approximately 1,500 patients, subject to regulatory discussions.
- Interim virology data from two Phase 2 AT-527 trials were expected in the second quarter of 2021.
- A separate Phase 3 post-exposure prophylaxis study was planned for approximately 3,000 patients.
- AT-752 Phase 1a development was initiated, with a Phase 1b dengue trial expected in the second half of 2021.
- The company expected to restart the AT-787 HCV Phase 1/2a program in the second half of 2021 and nominate an RSV candidate and begin IND-enabling studies during the same period.
- Initial commercial AT-527 supply was targeted for 2022, but the candidate had not received regulatory approval.
- Roche could owe up to $330.0 million in development and regulatory milestones, up to $320.0 million in sales milestones, and tiered royalties ranging from low double-digit to mid-twenties percentages. These amounts were contingent and not recognized as revenue at year-end.
- Key risks include clinical or regulatory failure of AT-527, competition from vaccines and other COVID-19 treatments, changing pandemic conditions, clinical-trial delays, manufacturing dependence on Roche and other third parties, intellectual-property challenges, pricing and reimbursement uncertainty, dilution from future financings and continued operating losses.
- Atea had federal NOL carryforwards of $53.2 million and state NOL carryforwards of $52.5 million, but recorded a full valuation allowance against deferred tax assets.
Important facts an investor should verify
- Whether AT-527 clinical trials produced clinically meaningful efficacy and acceptable safety results, rather than relying on preclinical or interim data.
- The status of FDA and foreign regulatory submissions, approvals, expedited designations and any potential AT-527 launch timeline.
- The remaining Roche deferred-revenue balance, revenue-recognition timing, development-cost sharing and milestone or royalty economics.
- Roche’s manufacturing capacity and the company’s ability to meet commercial demand if AT-527 is approved.
- Cash burn excluding one-time Roche and financing proceeds, and whether the projected cash runway remains adequate as Phase 3 and commercialization spending increases.
- The effect of COVID-19 vaccines, competing antivirals and evolving variants on AT-527’s addressable market.
- Potential dilution from approximately 7.9 million outstanding stock options, 7.1 million additional option shares available for grant and 1.2 million shares reserved under the employee stock purchase plan at December 31, 2020.