Ionq, Inc. current report, 14 August 2023

IonQ, Inc. Form 8-K Summary

Business Context and Reporting Period

IonQ, Inc. filed a Form 8-K reporting executive and key employee long-term incentive awards approved by the Compensation Committee on August 14, 2023 and granted on August 15, 2023. The filing is not a quarterly or annual financial report and does not provide operating results for a reporting period.

Compensation Awards and Key Terms

RecipientTitlePSU Grant-Date Fair ValueTarget PSUsRSU Grant-Date Fair ValueRSUs
Rima AlameddineChief Revenue Officer$5.2 million333,731NoneNone
Jungsang KimChief Technology Officer and Co-Founder$7.8 million500,597$1.0 million62,574
Thomas KramerChief Financial Officer$7.1 million458,880$0.9 million57,360
Christopher MonroeChief Scientist and Co-Founder$5.2 million333,731$0.6 million41,716

The awards were made under IonQ’s 2021 Equity Incentive Plan. Chief Executive Officer Chapman did not receive an award at his request, with potential value reallocated to other executives and employees.

  • PSUs represented two-thirds of the annual target long-term incentive opportunity and were designed as a partial four-year front-loaded award covering planned performance-based grants for 2023 through 2026.
  • PSU achievement may range from 0% to 300% of target and depends on aggregated technical and financial goals, weighted equally, together with a stock-price hurdle.
  • If the 60-trading-day average closing price does not meet the specified hurdle at the end of the performance period, maximum PSU achievement is limited to 100% of target.
  • The PSU performance period ends December 31, 2026, unless maximum performance goals are achieved during the first three years, which may accelerate the end date to December 31, 2025.
  • RSUs vest in equal quarterly installments over four years, beginning September 10, 2023 and ending June 10, 2027.

Financial Metrics, Liquidity, Debt, and Cash Flow

The filing does not provide revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, debt, liquidity, cash balance, or other operating financial metrics. It also does not provide financial guidance or an updated business outlook.

Material Changes, Risks, and Unusual Items

  • The awards may create substantial future stock-based compensation expense, although the filing does not state the accounting expense or timing of recognition.
  • PSU outcomes are highly dependent on technical and financial performance and IonQ’s stock-price performance; target awards can be forfeited or reduced depending on employment status and performance.
  • Voluntary termination or retirement generally results in forfeiture of all PSUs before performance certification.
  • Specified involuntary termination, change-in-control, death, and disability provisions may permit continued vesting or prorated awards, subject to the award agreement.
  • The filing does not disclose the specific technical or financial performance goals or the stock-price hurdle, which were included in the award documentation and may be partially omitted under Regulation S-K.

Investor Verification Items

  • Review Exhibit 10.1 for the detailed PSU performance goals, stock-price hurdle, vesting calculations, and termination provisions.
  • Monitor future filings for the stock-based compensation expense and dilution associated with these awards.
  • Verify the effect of the awards on IonQ’s outstanding share count, equity compensation reserves, and per-share metrics.
  • Review subsequent filings for PSU performance certification, modifications, forfeitures, or change-in-control treatment.