Business Context and Reporting Period
Company: Alphatec Holdings, Inc.
Filing Type: Form 8-K (Current Report)
Date of Report: March 10, 2008
Event: Entry into material definitive agreements with Stout Medical Group LP regarding spinal technology.
Key Financial Metrics and Agreements
This filing details the financial structure of two new agreements rather than reporting standard periodic financial results (revenue, profit, cash flow).
- License Agreement:
- Upfront cash payment (amount not specified).
- Issuance of common stock (amount not specified).
- Development and sales milestone payments in cash and stock (potentially achievable in 2008).
- Royalties on net sales with minimum annual royalties beginning in 2009.
- Term: 20 years after first commercial sale.
- Consulting Development Agreement:
- Upfront cash payment (amount not specified; repayable with interest if milestones are missed).
- Issuance of $500,000 in restricted common stock (vesting contingent on milestones).
- Royalties on net sales of products not covered by the License Agreement.
Material Changes and Equity Issuances
The company entered into agreements to license "Expandable VBR Technology" (an expandable metallic device for spine surgery) and to engage in joint development.
- Total Potential Equity Issuance: Up to $1,250,000 in common stock under the License Agreement plus $500,000 in restricted stock under the Consulting Agreement.
- Valuation Method: Share counts will be based on the average closing price of the issuer's common stock on the Nasdaq market for the 15 trading days prior to issuance.
- Cash Alternative: If the issuer is not listed on Nasdaq or a similar exchange at the time of issuance, Alphatec Spine must issue cash equal to the stock value.
- Dilution Cap: Both agreements limit share issuance to less than 19.99% of the issuer's issued and outstanding common stock.
Outlook, Risks, and Contingencies
- Development Milestones: Milestones for the License Agreement could begin to be achieved in 2008. Failure to achieve milestones under the Consulting Agreement triggers a repayment of the upfront cash payment plus interest and allows Alphatec to repurchase the restricted stock for $10.00.
- Termination Rights: Alphatec Spine may terminate the License Agreement for convenience with 90 days' prior written notice. Either party may terminate for material uncured breach.
- Regulatory Status: Equity issuances were made pursuant to exemptions under Rule 506 of Regulation D and/or Section 4(2) of the Securities Act of 1933.
- Documentation: Full copies of the agreements will be filed in the Form 10-Q for the quarter ending March 31, 2008.
Investor Verification Checklist
- Verify the specific dollar amounts of the upfront cash payments, which are not disclosed in this 8-K.
- Confirm the current Nasdaq listing status of Alphatec Holdings to determine if future payments will be made in stock or cash.
- Review the upcoming Form 10-Q (due for the quarter ending March 31, 2008) for the full text of the License and Consulting Agreements.
- Assess the impact of potential dilution, noting the 19.99% cap on share issuance per agreement.
- Monitor the achievement of development milestones in 2008, as these trigger additional payments and vesting of restricted stock.