SEC Filing Summary
Filing identity and period: The supplied filing is Zoom Telephonics, Inc.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2019, filed April 14, 2020. This does not match the request metadata naming “Fiee, Inc.”; the summary below reflects the filing’s named registrant. The filing reports annual results, not a standalone 2019 fourth quarter.
Business context
Zoom designs and sells internet-access and communications hardware, principally Motorola-branded cable modems and gateways, alongside networking, DSL, cellular, and other products. It relies on retailers and distributors, outsourced manufacturing, and Motorola trademark licenses. Cable modems and gateways generated about 90% of 2019 net sales.
Financial performance and liquidity
| Metric | FY 2019 / Dec. 31, 2019 | FY 2018 / Dec. 31, 2018 |
|---|---|---|
| Net sales | $37.6 million | $32.3 million |
| Gross profit and margin | $10.9 million; 29.0% | $11.6 million; 36.0% |
| Operating expenses | $14.1 million | $11.6 million |
| Operating income (loss) | $(3.2) million | $53 thousand |
| Net income (loss) | $(3.3) million; $(0.18) per share | $(74) thousand; approximately $0.00 per share |
| Cash provided by (used in) operations | $(1.5) million | $(1.8) million |
| Cash and cash equivalents | $1.2 million | $126 thousand |
| Working capital / current ratio | $5.4 million / 1.7 | Not stated here |
| Bank credit-line borrowings | None outstanding; approximately $3.0 million available | $1.7 million outstanding at year-end |
- Sales rose 16.4%, primarily from Motorola-branded cable modems and gateways. North America accounted for 97.7% of 2019 sales.
- Gross profit fell despite sales growth. Management attributed the margin decline principally to $3.2 million of tariffs on China-origin products.
- Operating expenses increased 21.8% to $14.1 million. Selling costs rose with Motorola royalties and retailer marketing; G&A increased partly because of a one-time bad-debt provision; R&D rose with compensation, testing, certification, and software development.
- Cash from financing was $3.3 million, including $4.94 million net proceeds from a May 2019 private placement of 4,545,455 shares, partly offset by $1.74 million of credit-line repayments. Investing activities used $484 thousand.
- At year-end, total assets were $13.9 million, total liabilities $7.8 million, and stockholders’ equity $6.1 million. Inventory was $7.4 million and net accounts receivable $4.1 million.
Changes, outlook, and material matters
- Results shifted from near break-even in 2018 to a $3.3 million net loss in 2019, as lower gross margin and higher operating expenses more than offset revenue growth.
- Management expected year-over-year sales growth, citing Motorola brand strength, product introductions, additional retail shelf space, online sales, and international expansion. It also stated it expected sufficient liquidity for at least 12 months after filing, while acknowledging losses, cash use, and uncertainty from COVID-19.
- The company was transitioning production from China to Vietnam to reduce tariff exposure. Management expected existing models to be transitioned by the end of June 2020 and estimated tariff savings of about $500,000 per month, plus release of $800,000 in restricted cash over the following year. COVID-19 had delayed the original transition plan; these were forecasts, not reported realized savings.
- Management reported COVID-19-related production and supply-chain delays and a temporary mid-March 2020 sales disruption. It said operations continued and reported that sales later returned to normal levels, with some models above prior run rates.
- Subsequent to year-end, Zoom expanded its revolving credit line approval from $3 million to $4 million, signed a three-year Foxconn manufacturing agreement, and extended its Motorola product license through December 31, 2025. A separate Motorola home-security and monitoring license carries minimum annual royalties of $2.05 million in 2021, rising to $2.8 million in 2024 and 2025. These agreements also create execution and minimum-payment risks.
- The existing Motorola license requires minimum annual royalties of $5.1 million in 2020 and $4.3 million annually from 2021 through 2025. Royalty expense was $4.5 million in 2019. Inadequate product sales could leave the company unable to cover minimum royalties.
- Two customers represented 84% of 2019 net sales, versus 78% in 2018. One supplier provided 96.3% of purchased inventory. The company also cited long component lead times, product returns and obsolescence, competition, foreign-exchange exposure, and dependence on outsourced manufacturing.
- A putative class action filed in January 2020 alleges Zoom modems were sold as new despite containing refurbished parts. The company said it intends to defend the case; the filing does not provide a clear estimate of potential loss.
- Management identified going-concern concerns arising from losses, operating cash use, and COVID-19 uncertainty, but concluded that planned cost controls, financing availability, and other actions mitigated substantial doubt for at least 12 months from filing.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Whether revenue growth and margins improved after 2019, and whether tariff costs and production relocation savings were realized as projected.
- Current liquidity, cash burn, credit-line availability and covenants, and the impact of restricted cash and customer collections.
- Sales performance against minimum Motorola royalty commitments, including the separate home-security license obligations.
- Customer and supplier concentration, manufacturing capacity and lead times, and the status of the Vietnam and Foxconn arrangements.
- Developments, potential financial exposure, and any reserves related to the modem class-action litigation.
- The company reported effective disclosure controls and internal control over financial reporting; the auditor gave an unqualified opinion on the financial statements, but did not attest to internal-control effectiveness.