Clipper Realty Inc. annual report, FY2017

Clipper Realty Inc. — 2017 Form 10-K Summary

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2017. This is an annual filing; standalone fourth-quarter results are not clearly provided. The statements combine the Company and its predecessor for periods before the 2015 formation transactions, which affects comparability.

Business context

Clipper Realty is a self-managed REIT focused on owning, operating, acquiring, and repositioning residential and commercial properties in Manhattan and Brooklyn. At year-end, its seven-property portfolio comprised approximately 3.1 million rentable square feet, plus about 154,000 square feet under development, and was 96.4% leased. Residential properties generated 73% of 2017 revenue.

During 2017, the Company acquired 107 Columbia Heights for $87.5 million, then vacant and undergoing repositioning, and 10 West 65th Street for $79.0 million. It raised approximately $78.7 million net in its February 2017 IPO.

Financial highlights

Metric20172016
Total revenue$104.0 million$93.0 million
Income from operations$29.5 million$25.8 million
Net loss$6.0 million$12.3 million
Net loss attributable to common stockholders$2.4 million; $0.15 per share$3.8 million; $0.34 per share
Net interest expense$35.5 million$38.1 million
Operating cash flow$10.4 million$9.4 million
Investing cash flow$(187.7) million$(121.3) million
Financing cash flow$147.6 million$24.2 million
FFO / AFFO$10.7 million / $16.7 million$3.0 million / $10.0 million
NOI / Adjusted EBITDA$56.4 million / $49.6 million$49.6 million / $43.7 million

Revenue increased 11.8% year over year, reflecting acquisitions and stronger rents and leasing. Operating expenses rose to $74.4 million from $67.2 million; operating income was 28.4% of revenue. Net loss narrowed as operating income increased and interest expense declined. On a same-property basis, excluding Aspen and 10 West 65th Street, revenue rose 7.6%; management cited rent increases, the 250 Livingston Street lease, and higher occupancy at Tribeca House.

At December 31, cash and cash equivalents were $7.9 million, restricted cash was $13.7 million, total assets were $1.052 billion, and total equity was $185.6 million. Gross property-level debt was $855.1 million; the balance sheet reports notes payable net of issuance costs of $843.9 million. Cash declined by $29.6 million during 2017, principally amid acquisitions and capital spending. The Company reported no corporate debt.

Residential rents increased at key properties: Flatbush Gardens’ average rent per square foot rose to $22.47 from $21.24, and Tribeca House’s to $69.18 from $68.05. Flatbush Gardens was 97.1% leased; Tribeca House was 91.1% leased. Dividends listed as paid during 2017 totaled $0.37 per common share. The board may change or suspend future distributions.

Material changes, outlook, and key risks

  • Debt refinancing after year-end: On February 21, 2018, the Company refinanced the Flatbush Gardens loans with a $246 million, ten-year mortgage, fixed at 3.5% for its first five years. It also repaid the $410 million Tribeca House loan package with $360 million of ten-year fixed-rate financing at 4.506% and cash on hand. Accordingly, the filing says no debt matures in 2018; the year-end contractual debt schedule showing $416.5 million due in 2018 predates these refinancings.
  • Interest-rate exposure: At year-end, approximately $470.1 million of debt was variable-rate; a 100-basis-point increase was estimated to raise annual interest expense by about $4.7 million, after the benefit of caps and swaps. The post-refinancing exposure may differ.
  • Tenant and lease concentration: City of New York agencies leased about 500,000 square feet, approximately 16% of portfolio rentable area and 17% of annualized rent. Major City leases expire in 2020. The commercial lease schedule shows 40.2% of gross annual rent expiring in 2019 and 39.1% in 2020. About 64% of residential operating-property square footage had leases expiring in 2018, including month-to-month leases.
  • Legal contingency: In January 2018, an appeals court unanimously ruled for the Company in a tenant rent-stabilization dispute concerning Tribeca House apartments and reversed the 2017 lower-court ruling. The decision remained subject to a possible motion for leave to appeal; the ultimate outcome and any rent-overcharge exposure are not stated as resolved.
  • Regulatory and execution risks: Flatbush Gardens is rent stabilized, Aspen has income-restricted units, and the portfolio is concentrated entirely in New York City. Renovation, leasing, property-tax increases, refinancing, and tenant defaults could affect cash flow. Management was evaluating a potential Flatbush Gardens expansion but provided no quantified project guidance.
  • REIT and related-party considerations: The tax protection agreement can constrain property sales and requires specified debt levels; the filing estimates hypothetical indemnification of about $364.9 million if covered assets had all been sold in a taxable transaction immediately after the private offering, and up to about $74.9 million for certain transfer-tax liabilities. These are estimates of contingent exposure, not reported current payments. Continuing investors hold voting rights generally representing 66.7% of voting power.

Management’s stated strategy is to grow rents and occupancy, renovate and reposition properties, and pursue disciplined acquisitions. It said current operating cash flow and additional mortgage financing should support operations, contractual obligations, and distributions for at least twelve months, while noting that long-term needs will require external capital. No specific earnings or distribution guidance was provided. The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act was not expected to have a material impact, although its full effect was uncertain.

The Company reported effective disclosure controls and management concluded internal control over financial reporting was effective at year-end. The independent auditor did not attest to internal controls, as the Company was an emerging growth company. The filing also notes prior significant deficiencies identified in the predecessor’s controls and remediation efforts.

Important facts for investors to verify

  • Review the February 2018 refinancing terms, cash used to repay Tribeca House debt, and current variable-rate exposure; the year-end debt schedule is pre-refinancing.
  • Track the Tribeca House rent-regulation litigation, possible further appeal, and any rent-overcharge or legal-cost exposure.
  • Assess renewal outcomes for City of New York leases and the concentration of residential expirations in 2018.
  • Compare cash from operations with AFFO, capital spending, debt service, and distributions when assessing dividend coverage; FFO and AFFO are non-GAAP measures, not substitutes for cash flow.
  • Verify the filing’s ownership/distribution disclosures: one section says the Operating Partnership is entitled to approximately 41.2% of aggregate LLC distributions, while the notes state approximately 40.4%.
  • Evaluate the potential cost and timing of the Columbia Heights repositioning, Flatbush Gardens renovation plans, and any proposed expansion.