Constellation Energy Corporation — Form 8-K Summary
Business Context and Reporting Period
Constellation Energy Corporation and Constellation Energy Generation, LLC filed a joint Form 8-K dated February 27, 2023, under Item 8.01 to report results of the PJM capacity auction for the 2024–2025 planning year. The auction results take effect June 1, 2024.
Auction Results and Key Metrics
All of the registrants’ nuclear, natural gas, and oil generation plants located in the PJM market cleared the auction. The filing reports total cleared capacity of 18,725 MW at ownership capacity, comprising 16,150 MW of nuclear capacity and 2,575 MW of natural gas, oil, and other capacity.
| Zone | Nuclear MW | Natural Gas/Oil/Others MW | Total MW | Capacity Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| COMED | 10,000 | — | 10,000 | $29 |
| EMAAC | 4,450 | 1,950 | 6,400 | $55 |
| MAAC | 1,700 | 200 | 1,900 | $49 |
| BGE | — | 425 | 425 | $73 |
| PJM Portfolio | 16,150 | 2,575 | 18,725 | Not separately stated |
The filing does not provide revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, debt, liquidity, or a quantified financial impact from the auction results.
Changes Versus Prior Comparable Period
The filing does not provide prior auction results or a comparable-period financial analysis, so the magnitude of any change cannot be determined from this report.
Outlook, Risks, and Unusual Items
The auction clearing supports capacity-market commitments beginning June 1, 2024, but the filing does not provide management earnings guidance or projected revenue from the awards. Forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties described in the registrants’ 2022 Annual Report on Form 10-K and other SEC filings, including risk factors, liquidity and operating matters, and commitments and contingencies.
Investor Verification Items
- Verify the applicable unit for the reported capacity prices, which is not specified in the filing text.
- Assess how the cleared volumes and prices affect future capacity-market revenue, earnings, and cash flow.
- Confirm the operational and contractual requirements associated with the June 1, 2024 effective date.
- Review the 2022 Form 10-K risk factors and commitments and contingencies referenced in the filing.
- Verify whether subsequent PJM market or regulatory developments changed the expected economics of the auction results.