Krispy Kreme, Inc. current report, 07 July 2021

Krispy Kreme, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary

Business context and reporting period

This Form 8-K reports financing actions occurring on July 7–8, 2021, following Krispy Kreme’s public-company transition. The report was signed on July 12, 2021. It does not provide operating results or a quarterly reporting period.

Material financing changes

  • On July 8, 2021, Krispy Kreme, Cotton Parent, Inc., Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Inc., certain subsidiaries, lenders, and Citibank, N.A. entered into Master Amendment No. 1 to the June 13, 2019 Credit Agreement.
  • The amended credit facilities continue to provide $700.0 million of initial term loans and $300.0 million of revolving capacity.
  • Krispy Kreme, Inc. joined the amended credit agreement, became a guarantor, and pledged substantially all of its assets as collateral.
  • The amendment permits financial reporting by the Company, incorporates the Company and Holdings into specified financial definitions and covenants, expands certain representations and affirmative covenants, and modifies the passive holdings covenant to permit specified indebtedness and restricted payments.
  • On July 7, 2021, the Company repaid in full and terminated a separate $500.0 million senior term loan agreement dated June 10, 2021.

Financial metrics, liquidity, and outlook

The filing does not provide revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, or other operating metrics. It also does not disclose the Company’s cash balance, remaining drawn revolving capacity, interest rates, maturity dates, or pro forma leverage. The continuing senior secured facilities provide $300.0 million of revolving capacity, but the filing does not state the amount available or drawn.

Risks, contingencies, and unusual items

  • The Company’s obligations under the amended credit agreement are supported by guarantees and a pledge of substantially all of its assets, increasing lender security interests and financial covenant exposure.
  • Specific covenant thresholds, events of default, pricing, amortization, maturity provisions, and exceptions are not described in the filing summary and should be reviewed in the complete agreement.
  • The $500.0 million term loan was repaid and terminated; the filing does not explain the source of repayment funds or any associated fees, premiums, or accounting effects.
  • Certain schedules and attachments to the filed agreements were omitted and may be provided to the SEC upon request.

Important facts for investors to verify

  1. Review Exhibits 10.1 and 10.2 for the complete amended credit terms, covenant calculations, collateral package, and permitted debt and restricted-payment provisions.
  2. Confirm the outstanding term-loan balance and utilization of the $300.0 million revolving facility after the refinancing actions.
  3. Assess the impact of the asset pledge and financial covenants on liquidity, distributions, acquisitions, and future borrowing capacity.
  4. Verify the funding source and accounting treatment of the $500.0 million term-loan repayment and termination.