IOVANCE BIOTHERAPEUTICS, INC. annual report, FY2022

Business context and reporting period

Iovance Biotherapeutics, Inc. filed its Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022 (filed February 28, 2023). Although the request identifies 2022 Q4, this filing reports full-year results; it does not provide a clear standalone fourth-quarter income statement or cash-flow summary. Iovance is a clinical-stage biotechnology company developing personalized tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte (TIL) therapies. It had no approved products or product revenue in 2022.

The lead candidate, lifileucel, is being developed for advanced melanoma. The company began a rolling FDA biologics license application (BLA) submission in August 2022 and expected to complete it in Q1 2023. Other programs include lifileucel for cervical cancer, LN-145 for non-small cell lung cancer, and investigational candidates IOV-4001 and IOV-2001.

Financial results and liquidity

MetricFY 2022FY 2021Change
RevenueNoneNoneNo product revenue
Research and development expense$294.8 million$259.0 millionUp 14%
General and administrative expense$104.1 million$83.7 millionUp 24%
Operating loss$398.9 million$342.7 millionLoss increased
Net loss$395.9 million$342.3 millionUp $53.6 million, or 16%
Basic and diluted net loss per share$2.49$2.23Loss per share increased
Net cash used in operating activities$292.8 million$227.9 millionCash use increased
Cash, cash equivalents, investments and restricted cash$478.3 million$602.1 millionDown $123.8 million

There were no meaningful product margins to report because the company had no product sales. At year-end, current assets were $479.1 million and current liabilities were $91.5 million. The balance sheet reported $1.0 million of long-term note payable and $84.4 million of operating lease liabilities. The company reported an accumulated deficit of $1.57 billion. It estimated at least 12 months of funding from the filing date under its planned spending assumptions, and anticipated approximately $20 million of capital expenditures over the following 12 months.

Financing remained important: the company raised $189.5 million net through its at-the-market equity program in 2022, issuing 29.8 million shares at a weighted-average price of $6.52. Cash and investments at year-end included $231.7 million of cash and cash equivalents, $240.1 million of short-term investments, and $6.4 million of restricted cash. Cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash reported in the cash-flow statement were $238.2 million; the additional balance was held in investments.

Material changes versus the prior year

  • Net loss increased 16%, primarily reflecting continued R&D activity and growth in corporate and commercial-readiness infrastructure.
  • R&D expense rose $35.7 million. Higher payroll, stock compensation and facility costs were partly offset by lower clinical-trial and manufacturing costs.
  • G&A expense rose $20.4 million, largely due to increased headcount, stock compensation and launch-preparation spending.
  • Operating cash use increased $64.8 million to $292.8 million. Equity issuance provided $190.2 million of net financing cash flow.
  • Cash, cash equivalents, investments and restricted cash declined from $602.1 million to $478.3 million. Common shares outstanding at year-end increased to 187.8 million from 157.0 million.

Outlook, commentary, risks and unusual items

  • Regulatory and launch plans: Management expected to complete the lifileucel melanoma BLA submission in Q1 2023 and was preparing for a potential 2023 launch if approved. It targeted 40 authorized treatment centers for launch. FDA approval, timing and commercial success were not assured.
  • Clinical plans: The Phase 3 TILVANCE-301 trial was starting up to study lifileucel plus pembrolizumab in frontline advanced melanoma, with planned enrollment of 670 patients. The company also planned continued cervical-cancer enrollment and further FDA discussions regarding LN-145 in lung cancer.
  • Clinical evidence: In pooled C-144-01 melanoma Cohorts 2 and 4 data, the reported objective response rate was 31.4% among 153 patients; median overall survival for all patients was 13.9 months. These are clinical-trial results, not reported commercial outcomes. Management cautioned that preliminary findings may change and may not establish approval or predict future results.
  • Manufacturing and execution: The company planned to rely primarily on its Philadelphia cell-therapy center, supplemented by contract manufacturers. Scaling, product consistency, regulatory inspections, potency testing, supply and treatment logistics could delay trials or commercialization or increase costs.
  • Funding and dilution: The company expected significant continuing R&D, manufacturing and launch-preparation spending. It had a $500 million ATM sales agreement, creating potential for further dilution, and stated that additional financing could be needed beyond available funds.
  • Proleukin transaction: In January 2023, after year-end, Iovance entered an option agreement to acquire worldwide rights and related operations for Proleukin (aldesleukin), used to support T-cell activity after TIL infusion. Terms included approximately $200 million upfront, approximately $50 million upon first lifileucel approval in advanced melanoma, and additional consideration based on a double-digit percentage of global net sales. Closing was subject to regulatory approvals and other conditions; the transaction was not reported as completed.
  • Other risks and contingencies: Key risks include clinical-trial results, FDA review, reimbursement and market acceptance, competition, manufacturing capacity, supplier dependence and potential future equity financing. A stockholder derivative case had a proposed settlement awaiting court action; Solomon-related litigation also remained pending, and the company said potential loss could not then be estimated for those cases. Management did not believe pending matters would materially adversely affect the company.

Auditors issued an unqualified opinion on the financial statements and internal controls over financial reporting; management also concluded controls were effective. The auditor identified accrued clinical development costs as a critical audit matter, reflecting the estimation and coordination required to assess vendor work completed.

Important facts for investors to verify

  1. Check subsequent SEC filings and FDA updates for the actual BLA completion, filing acceptance, review timeline, decision and any additional manufacturing or clinical requirements.
  2. Reconcile the cover page’s reported 224,238,882 shares outstanding as of February 21, 2023 with the balance-sheet count of 187,812,072 shares at December 31, 2022, including subsequent issuances and equity awards.
  3. Track cash burn, investment balances, capital spending, ATM usage and any new financing to assess runway against the company’s stated assumptions.
  4. Verify the Proleukin option’s exercise and closing status, funding source, total consideration, sales-based payments and associated obligations.
  5. Assess whether commercial manufacturing capacity, treatment-center readiness, reimbursement and patient access support the company’s launch plans and economics.