Business Context and Reporting Period
This Form 8-K Current Report was filed by Lululemon Athletica Inc. on March 25, 2009. The filing addresses corporate governance changes, specifically the departure of a director, amendments to the company's bylaws, and the approval of a new executive compensation plan for the fiscal year beginning February 2, 2009.
Key Financial Metrics
The filing text does not provide specific values for revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, debt, or liquidity. It references financial performance goals (diluted earnings per share, revenue, gross margin, and inventory turns) as criteria for executive bonuses but does not disclose the actual results or targets for these metrics.
Material Changes
- Board Composition: Steven J. Collins will not stand for re-election and will retire from the Board upon the completion of his term at the 2009 Annual Meeting. Consequently, the Board size is reduced from ten to nine members.
- Bylaw Amendments: The Board amended Section 2.5.1(a) of the Bylaws to require stockholder proposals for director nominations to be submitted 120 days prior to the anniversary of the preceding year's proxy mailing date. Additional disclosure requirements regarding derivative securities positions were also added.
- Compensation Plan: A 2009 Executive Bonus Plan was approved for senior management (Executive Vice President and above).
Guidance, Outlook, and Management Commentary
The filing outlines the structure of the 2009 Executive Bonus Plan rather than providing financial guidance. Key features include:
- Performance Weighting: Target bonuses are weighted 90% on financial performance goals and 10% on individual performance goals.
- Financial Measures: Bonuses are tied to diluted earnings per share, revenue, gross margin, and inventory turns.
- Payout Limits: The maximum allowable bonus payout is 120% of the target bonus amount.
- Cash Flow Condition: No bonuses will be paid under the Plan if the Company fails to reach a minimum positive cash flow goal established by the Compensation Committee.
- Target Bonus Percentages:
- Chief Executive Officer and Chief Product Designer: 75% of salary.
- Executive Vice Presidents and Other Executive Officers: 60% of salary.
The filing explicitly states that the illustrative examples of maximum payouts do not represent a forecast or target for Fiscal 2009.
Investor Verification Checklist
- Verify the exact date of the 2009 Annual Meeting of Stockholders to confirm the effective date of Steven J. Collins' retirement.
- Review the attached Exhibit 10.1 (2009 Executive Bonus Plan) for the specific numerical targets for earnings per share, revenue, gross margin, and inventory turns.
- Confirm the specific "minimum positive cash flow goal" threshold required to trigger any bonus payments, as this figure is not disclosed in the summary text.
- Check the Third Amended and Restated Bylaws (Exhibit 3.1) for the full text of the new stockholder proposal deadlines.