Ashford Hospitality Trust Inc. - Form 8-K Summary
Business Context and Reporting Period
This Form 8-K Current Report was filed by Ashford Hospitality Trust, Inc. on March 24, 2005. The filing discloses the entry into a material definitive agreement regarding executive compensation adjustments approved by the Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors.
Key Financial Metrics
The filing does not provide data on revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, debt, or liquidity. The primary financial data disclosed relates to executive compensation:
- Restricted Stock Valuation: Shares issued on March 24, 2005, were valued at $10.04 per share (closing price on the date of issuance).
- Salary Adjustments: Annual base salaries for executive officers were increased, retroactively effective January 1, 2005.
Material Changes Versus Prior Period
The filing details specific increases to executive base salaries and the issuance of restricted common stock. The changes are summarized below:
| Executive Officer | Title | Former Base Salary | Adjusted Base Salary | Restricted Stock Awards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Archie Bennett, Jr. | Chairman of the Board | $562,240 | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
| Montgomery J. Bennett | President and CEO | $425,000 | $467,500 | Not Disclosed |
| Douglas A. Kessler | Chief Operating Officer | $300,000 | $360,000 | Not Disclosed |
| David J. Kimichik | Chief Financial Officer | $260,000 | $286,000 | Not Disclosed |
| David A. Brooks | Chief Legal Officer | $260,000 | $286,000 | Not Disclosed |
| Mark L. Nunneley | Chief Accounting Officer | $165,000 | $181,500 | Not Disclosed |
Note: The filing text lists "Restricted Stock Awards" column headers but does not explicitly state the share count for each individual in the provided text, only the aggregate valuation method.
Guidance, Outlook, and Risks
The filing contains no forward-looking guidance, outlook, or discussion of risks and contingencies. The restricted stock awards vest 1/3 annually over three years.
Key Facts for Investor Verification
- Verify the exact number of restricted shares issued to each executive, as the filing text lists the valuation ($10.04/share) but does not explicitly list the share counts per individual in the table rows.
- Confirm the total aggregate cost of the salary increases and stock awards to the company.
- Review the Company's most recent 10-Q or 10-K for context on how these compensation changes impact overall operating expenses.