Dynatrace, Inc. current report, 02 December 2022

Business Context and Reporting Period

Dynatrace, Inc. filed this Form 8-K on December 5, 2022, reporting events occurring on December 2, 2022. The filing concerns the refinancing of the company’s debt facilities and does not report quarterly operating results.

Key Financial and Capital Structure Metrics

  • New credit facility: Dynatrace LLC and Dynatrace Intermediate LLC entered into a senior secured revolving credit facility with aggregate commitments of up to $400 million.
  • Maturity: December 2, 2027, with two possible one-year extensions subject to lender consent.
  • Currency availability: U.S. dollars, Euros, pounds sterling and Canadian dollars, with a $100 million sublimit for non-U.S.-dollar borrowings.
  • Interest rates: Benchmark-based rates, including Term SOFR, plus applicable margins determined by the company’s total net leverage ratio. Non-base-rate margins range from 1.00% to 1.75%; base-rate margins range from 0.00% to 0.75%.
  • Liquidity reference: The company used a portion of its cash balance to repay its prior term loan; cash was $563 million as of September 30, 2022.
  • Funded debt: Following repayment of the prior term loan, the company stated that it had no other funded debt obligations outstanding.
  • Financial covenant: The borrower and restricted subsidiaries must maintain a total net leverage ratio of no more than 4.00 to 1.00, temporarily increasing to 4.50 to 1.00 for certain qualified acquisitions with aggregate consideration of at least $150 million.

Material Changes Versus the Prior Comparable Period

  • The new $400 million revolving credit facility replaced the prior First Lien Credit Agreement, which included a term loan maturing August 23, 2025, and a revolving facility maturing August 23, 2023.
  • Dynatrace repaid the remaining principal balance of the prior term loan using cash and terminated the prior senior secured revolving credit facility.
  • The refinancing extended the stated revolving facility maturity from 2023 to 2027 and eliminated the company’s outstanding funded term debt, based on the filing.

Guidance, Outlook, Risks and Unusual Items

  • The filing provides no revenue, earnings, cash-flow guidance, operating outlook or margin guidance.
  • The Credit Agreement contains customary representations, warranties, affirmative and negative covenants, and events of default.
  • Interest expense and borrowing costs may vary with benchmark rates and the company’s total net leverage ratio.
  • The company’s liquidity declined by the amount used to repay the term loan, but the filing does not state the exact repayment amount or post-transaction cash balance.
  • Availability under the revolving facility remains subject to borrowing-base or commitment availability, covenant compliance and other Credit Agreement conditions; the filing does not disclose any borrowings outstanding under the new facility.

Investor Verification Points

  • Verify the exact principal amount repaid and the company’s cash and total liquidity after the refinancing.
  • Review Exhibit 10.1 for detailed covenant definitions, collateral provisions, mandatory prepayments, events of default and lender-consent requirements.
  • Confirm whether any amounts were drawn under the new revolving facility as of the latest reporting date.
  • Assess the effect of benchmark interest rates and leverage-based pricing on future interest expense.
  • Review subsequent filings for changes in leverage, acquisitions, revolver usage or amendments to the Credit Agreement.