Prologis, Inc. annual report, FY2021

Prologis, Inc. and Prologis, L.P. — 2021 Form 10-K

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2021, with selected fourth-quarter data. Prologis is a global logistics real estate REIT operating in 19 countries. Its two segments are Real Estate Operations and Strategic Capital. Figures below are in U.S. dollars and generally rounded.

Business context and operating performance

Management described demand for logistics space as robust, citing e-commerce, supply-chain repositioning and customer demand for resilience. The owned-and-managed portfolio totaled 902 million square feet and was 97.7% occupied at year-end, up from 96.2% in 2020. Prologis reported a 36% estimated net effective lease mark-to-market, indicating potential rent upside as leases renew or expire.

Financial results and key metrics

Metric20212020Change / context
Total revenue$4.759 billion$4.439 billionUp 7.2%
Net earnings attributable to common stockholders$2.934 billion$1.473 billionUp 99.1%; includes substantial property-disposition gains
Diluted earnings per share$3.94$2.01Up 96.0%
Core FFO per common share/unitNot stated in supplied textNot stated in supplied textCompany-wide Core FFO was $3.172 billion, up 10.8% from $2.864 billion; non-GAAP measure
Real Estate Operations NOI$3.105 billion$2.820 billionUp 10.1%
Strategic Capital NOI$384 million$419 millionDown 8.4%, despite higher recurring fees; promote revenue was lower
Net cash from operating activities$2.996 billion$2.937 billionUp 2.0%
Net cash used in investing activities$1.990 billion$3.074 billionDriven by development, acquisitions, property contributions and dispositions
Net cash used in financing activities$1.008 billion$372 millionIncludes dividends and debt activity
Total assets / total equity$58.486 billion / $37.742 billion$56.065 billion / $36.325 billionYear-end balances
Debt$17.715 billion$16.849 billionWeighted average effective rate 1.6%; average remaining maturity 10.4 years
Available liquidity$4.998 billion$4.771 billionIncludes $4.442 billion facility availability and $556 million cash

Fourth-quarter revenue was $1.277 billion versus $1.112 billion in Q4 2020; common-stockholder earnings were $1.247 billion versus $280 million, and diluted EPS was $1.67 versus $0.38. The sharp earnings comparison reflects, in part, greater real estate disposition gains.

Material changes versus 2020

  • Rental revenue increased to $4.148 billion from $3.791 billion, supported by portfolio growth, leasing and rent increases. The Liberty acquisition contributed to the year-over-year comparison.
  • Net gains on real estate transactions rose to $1.590 billion from $717 million: $817 million from development properties and land, and $773 million from other real estate dispositions.
  • Prologis generated $5.2 billion of net proceeds and realized $1.6 billion of net gains, principally through contributions to co-investment ventures and third-party dispositions.
  • Strategic Capital revenue declined to $591 million from $637 million, primarily because promote revenue fell to $98 million from $239 million; recurring fees increased, reflecting higher venture property valuations.
  • Net interest expense fell to $266 million from $315 million as refinancing lowered borrowing costs. Debt increased overall, while the weighted average effective rate declined.
  • Unrealized foreign-currency and derivative gains were $173 million, versus losses of $161 million in 2020; total foreign-currency and derivative gains were $164 million, versus losses of $167 million.

Outlook, risks and unusual items

  • Management said its 2022 outlook was promising and expected higher market rents and asset valuations, profitable capital deployment and increased development activity. The supplied filing text does not provide a clear numerical 2022 earnings or FFO guidance range.
  • The development portfolio had $4.7 billion of total expected investment, including $2.7 billion invested and about $2.0 billion remaining; it was 54.6% leased. Management expected development activity to increase in 2022. The broader land bank was estimated to support $22.2 billion of consolidated development investment, or $26.4 billion on an owned-and-managed basis.
  • Refinancing activity included $2.9 billion of senior-note issuance and $1.5 billion of redemptions. Early debt extinguishment losses were $187 million. Scheduled 2022 principal payments were approximately $986 million.
  • Key risks include changes in economic conditions, interest rates and capital-market access; customer defaults or weaker lease renewals; construction-cost inflation and development execution; foreign-currency exposure; geographic concentration, particularly California; co-investment venture risks; environmental and climate hazards; COVID-19 impacts; cybersecurity; and maintaining REIT status. The company reported compliance with debt covenants and $4.998 billion of liquidity at year-end.
  • Environmental liabilities recorded were $87 million; management said it was not aware of environmental liabilities expected to have a material adverse effect. Legal matters in the ordinary course were not expected by management to have a material adverse effect.
  • Cash dividends were $2.52 per common share in 2021, up from $2.32 in 2020. The filing reports an estimated 2021 tax characterization of dividends.

Most important facts for investors to verify

  • How much of reported earnings growth and Q4 EPS was attributable to disposition gains, foreign-currency movements and other nonrecurring or volatile items, versus recurring property operations?
  • Whether the 36% lease mark-to-market translates into realized rent growth, and how occupancy, renewal spreads and leasing costs evolve.
  • Whether the $4.7 billion development program reaches stabilization and leasing targets on schedule despite cost inflation, including the remaining $2.0 billion funding requirement.
  • Debt maturities, refinancing terms, variable-rate exposure and liquidity after scheduled 2022 principal payments and planned investment activity.
  • Changes in co-investment venture valuations, promote income and commitments; the filing lists $312 million of Prologis equity commitments and $5.754 billion of venture-partner commitments.
  • How concentrated-market, insurance, environmental, climate, currency and customer-credit exposures develop; assess non-GAAP NOI and FFO alongside GAAP results and cash flows.

KPMG issued unqualified opinions on the consolidated financial statements; Prologis, Inc.’s internal control over financial reporting was also assessed as effective.