INDEPENDENT BANK CORP annual report, FY2020

Independent Bank Corporation — 2020 Form 10-K

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2020. The company is a Michigan bank holding company whose principal business is commercial banking through Independent Bank, primarily serving Lower Michigan. This summary is based on the supplied filing text; the full financial statements and MD&A are incorporated by reference but are not included in that text.

Key financial metrics

Metric2020Comparable period / context
Loans at year-end$2.826 billion, including $92.4 million held for sale$2.795 billion in 2019; approximately 1.1% growth
Loans excluding loans held for sale$2.734 billionAs of December 31, 2020
Deposits$3.637 billionAs of December 31, 2020; prior year-end figure not provided in the supplied text
Average deposits / average deposit cost$3.392 billion / 0.37%$2.976 billion / 0.79% in 2019
Net income returnsROE 15.68%; ROA 1.43%ROE 13.63%; ROA 1.35% in 2019
Allowance for loan losses$35.429 million; 1.25% of loans including loans held for sale$26.148 million; 0.94% in 2019
Net charge-offs$3.182 million; 0.11% of average loansNet recoveries of $0.436 million in 2019
Nonperforming loan indicators$8.312 million nonaccrual; $44.341 million restructured loans2019: $10.178 million and $47.575 million, respectively
Available-for-sale securities$1.072 billion$518.4 million in 2019
Mortgage loan net gains$62.6 million$20.0 million in 2019; $10.6 million in 2018

The filing text does not provide clear values for total revenue, net income, net interest income or margin, operating cash flow, cash balances, or specific liquidity ratios. It references financial statements and MD&A elsewhere in the annual report.

Material changes versus prior year

  • Returns improved: ROE rose to 15.68% from 13.63%, and ROA to 1.43% from 1.35%.
  • Mortgage loan gains increased sharply to $62.6 million from $20.0 million, contributing to non-interest income rising to 36.6% of revenue mix from 24.2%. These are revenue-mix percentages, not reported total revenue values.
  • The allowance increased by $9.281 million to $35.429 million. The allowance roll-forward reports $12.463 million of additions included in operations; net charge-offs were $3.182 million, versus net recoveries in 2019.
  • Average deposits grew and their average stated cost declined. The securities portfolio more than doubled year over year.
  • The company issued $40 million of subordinated debt in 2020, maturing in May 2030. The filing identifies a 5.95% fixed-to-floating rate subordinated note. It also reports $38.3 million of trust preferred securities included in holding-company Tier 1 capital.

Outlook, risks, and unusual items

  • COVID-19 and credit: Management identified uncertainty around the pandemic, regional economic conditions, unemployment, borrower performance, collateral values, and potential additional loan-loss provisions. The company reported 1,483 initial PPP loans totaling $169.8 million outstanding at year-end; forgiveness applications totaling $123.0 million were pending. It had no second-draw PPP loans outstanding at year-end.
  • Operations: A core data-processing system conversion was underway, with completion expected in the second quarter of 2021. Management warned delays or implementation problems could affect operations and financial performance.
  • Accounting and regulation: CECL implementation was deferred under COVID-related legislation until the earlier of January 1, 2022 or the first day of the fiscal year beginning after termination of the national emergency; eligible early adoption was permitted. LIBOR transition, regulatory change, and compliance costs are additional uncertainties.
  • Capital and debt: The company said its holding-company capital ratios exceeded applicable minimums and its bank exceeded minimums for the well-capitalized category, but actual ratios are not stated in the supplied text.
  • Contingencies: Ordinary-course litigation accruals were described as immaterial, with estimated reasonably possible additional losses also described as insignificant. PPP-related litigation and potential SBA guarantee disputes were identified as risks.
  • Share repurchases: A 2020 authorization expired at year-end. The board authorized repurchases of up to 1.1 million shares during 2021.
  • No quantified earnings or revenue guidance is provided in the supplied text. Management’s forward-looking statements are subject to significant uncertainty, particularly from COVID-19, credit conditions, interest rates, liquidity, competition, and regulation.

Most important facts for investors to verify

  • Review the incorporated annual report’s audited statements and MD&A for actual revenue, net income, net interest margin, cash flows, liquidity, and regulatory capital ratios; these values are not present in the supplied filing text.
  • Reconcile asset-quality disclosures: the statistical loan table lists $8.312 million of nonaccrual loans, while a risk-factor passage reports $7.9 million of nonperforming loans at year-end. Confirm definitions and amounts in the full report.
  • Assess the assumptions behind the allowance increase and potential COVID-related credit losses, including PPP loan forgiveness and SBA guarantee exposure.
  • Evaluate whether unusually high mortgage gains and increased securities balances are sustainable, and how lower interest rates affect future margins and servicing-related values.
  • Track completion and cost of the planned core systems conversion and the company’s 2021 repurchase activity.