General Mills, Inc. — Form 10-K Summary
Business context and reporting period
General Mills is a global branded food manufacturer with four operating segments: North America Retail, International, Pet, and North America Foodservice. This filing covers the fiscal year ended May 29, 2022 (52 weeks), not fiscal 2021; the filing also provides fourth-quarter fiscal 2022 results.
Key financial metrics
| Metric | FY2022 | FY2021 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Net sales | $18.993 billion | $18.127 billion | +5%; organic sales +6% |
| Operating profit | $3.476 billion | $3.145 billion | +11% |
| Net earnings attributable to General Mills | $2.707 billion | $2.340 billion | +16% |
| Diluted EPS | $4.42 | $3.78 | +17% |
| Adjusted operating profit | $3.213 billion | $3.153 billion | +2% constant currency |
| Adjusted diluted EPS | $3.94 | $3.79 | +4% constant currency |
| Gross margin | 33.7% | Not stated here | Down 190 basis points |
| Operating profit margin | 18.3% | 17.3% | Up 100 basis points |
| Adjusted operating profit margin | 16.9% | 17.4% | Down 50 basis points |
| Net cash from operations | $3.316 billion | $2.983 billion | Up $333 million |
| Capital expenditures | $569 million | $531 million | Up $38 million |
| Free cash flow | $2.747 billion | Not stated here | 113% of adjusted net earnings |
| Total debt | $11.620 billion | $12.612 billion | Down $992 million |
| Cash and cash equivalents | $569 million | $1.505 billion | Down $936 million |
FY2022 sales growth reflected 7 percentage points of organic net price realization and mix, partly offset by a 1-point decline in organic volume. Input cost inflation was 8%. The effective tax rate fell to 18.3% from 22.0%, while the adjusted effective tax rate was 20.9% versus 21.1%.
Fourth-quarter FY2022 net sales were $4.891 billion, compared with $4.524 billion a year earlier. Net earnings attributable to General Mills were $823 million versus $417 million, and diluted EPS was $1.35 versus $0.68. Quarterly results included divestiture gains and other items noted below.
Segments and material changes
- North America Retail sales rose 3% to $11.572 billion; segment operating profit fell 1% to $2.700 billion.
- International sales declined 9% to $3.316 billion, including a 12-point impact from divestitures; organic sales increased 2%. Segment operating profit declined 2% to $232 million.
- Pet sales increased 30% to $2.259 billion, including 13 points from the Tyson pet treats acquisition; organic sales rose 18%. Segment operating profit increased 13% to $471 million.
- North America Foodservice sales increased 24% to $1.846 billion and segment operating profit rose 26% to $256 million.
The company acquired Tyson Foods’ pet treats business for $1.2 billion and completed sales of its European dough businesses and interests in Yoplait-related entities. It agreed to sell its Helper main meals and Suddenly Salad side dishes business for approximately $610 million, expected to close in FY2023, and entered an agreement to acquire TNT Crust, which closed after year-end. A revised segment structure took effect during FY2022; the company restated prior segment figures, with no effect on consolidated results.
Liquidity, capital allocation, and outlook
Cash from operations funded $569 million of capital expenditures, the $1.2 billion pet treats acquisition, dividends of $1.245 billion, and share repurchases of $877 million. The company reported net debt-to-adjusted EBITDA of 2.8, down from 2.9. It had $2.7 billion of committed credit facilities available and was in compliance with debt covenants. Management said cash flows and available financing were sufficient for at least the next 12 months; $1.674 billion of long-term debt was classified as current.
For FY2023, management forecast organic net sales growth of 4% to 5%; adjusted operating profit ranging from down 2% to up 1% in constant currency; adjusted diluted EPS ranging from flat to up 3% in constant currency; and free cash flow conversion of at least 90%. The outlook assumes approximately 14% input cost inflation, low-double-digit net price realization, and HMM savings of approximately 3% to 4% of cost of goods sold. Acquisitions and divestitures were expected to create a 3-point net headwind to adjusted profit and EPS growth. Capital expenditures were projected at approximately 4% of net sales.
Management commentary, risks, and unusual items
Management said it responded to rising costs and supply-chain disruption with pricing actions and savings initiatives, and held or grew market share in 70% of global priority businesses. It expected at-home food demand to ease from pandemic highs but remain above pre-pandemic levels, while away-from-home demand continued to recover. FY2023 performance was expected to depend particularly on consumer economic health, inflation, and supply-chain disruptions.
- FY2022 GAAP results included $194 million of net divestiture gains and net restructuring recoveries; adjusted measures exclude these and other comparability items. The tax rate also benefited from a $50.7 million release of a valuation allowance and certain non-taxable divestiture gains.
- Commodity, packaging, energy, transportation, and labor costs; pricing-related volume elasticity; and supply availability could pressure margins and sales. The company does not fully hedge commodity exposure, and derivative mark-to-market accounting can add earnings volatility.
- Walmart represented 20% of consolidated sales and 28% of North America Retail sales. Customer concentration, private-label competition, and consumer shifts remain risks.
- Goodwill and indefinite-lived intangible assets totaled approximately $21.4 billion. No impairment was recorded, but the Uncle Toby’s brand had only 7% fair-value coverage above carrying value; Progresso, Green Giant, and EPIC were also monitored for potential impairment.
- The company disclosed two environmental response actions and a disputed Brazilian state sales-tax assessment for which it could not estimate a possible loss. Management did not consider pending litigation reasonably likely to have a material adverse effect. It also provided $147 million of guarantees and comfort letters, mainly for joint ventures.
- The financial statements received an unqualified audit opinion; the auditor reported effective internal control over financial reporting. Goodwill and brand valuation was identified as a critical audit matter.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Whether FY2023 pricing and cost savings offset the forecast 14% input inflation without materially worsening volumes or margins.
- How the Helper/Suddenly Salad sale, TNT Crust acquisition, and other portfolio changes affect reported growth and adjusted results.
- Debt refinancing needs, including $1.674 billion of current maturities, and the effect of higher floating-rate exposure.
- Progress and valuation headroom for Uncle Toby’s, Progresso, Green Giant, and EPIC, given the company’s substantial goodwill and brand assets.
- Developments in the Brazilian tax matter, environmental actions, supply-chain risks, and customer concentration.