Howmet Aerospace Inc. annual report, FY2011

Filing identity and period

Important identification mismatch: The supplied filing is Alcoa Inc.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, filed February 16, 2012. It is not a Howmet Aerospace filing. The filing reports full-year 2011 results, with quarterly data including Q4; it does not present a separate Q4 10-K.

Alcoa operated globally in 31 countries across Alumina, Primary Metals, Flat-Rolled Products, and Engineered Products and Solutions. Aluminum and alumina accounted for more than 80% of revenue.

Financial results and liquidity

Metric20112010
Sales$24.951 billion$21.013 billion
Income from continuing operations attributable to Alcoa common shareholders$614 million; $0.55 diluted EPS$262 million; $0.25 diluted EPS
Net income attributable to Alcoa$611 million$254 million
Cash from operations$2.193 billion$2.261 billion
Capital expenditures$1.287 billion$1.015 billion
Cash and cash equivalents at year-end$1.939 billion$1.543 billion
Total debt, including short-term borrowings and commercial paper$9.371 billion$9.165 billion
Debt-to-capital ratio35%Not stated here

Cost of goods sold was 82.1% of sales, versus 81.7% in 2010. The filing reports a 24.0% effective tax rate. Current assets were $7.713 billion and current liabilities $6.013 billion at year-end (approximately 1.28 current ratio). Alcoa reported a $3.750 billion undrawn revolving credit facility maturing in 2016 and compliance with its covenants.

Quarterly results were uneven: Q4 2011 sales were $5.989 billion, with a $193 million loss from continuing operations attributable to common shareholders and a $191 million net loss attributable to Alcoa. Annual results nevertheless improved versus 2010.

Material changes versus 2010

  • Sales increased 19%, while common-shareholder continuing income rose $352 million. Higher realized alumina and aluminum prices, stronger midstream and downstream volumes, productivity, and favorable derivative mark-to-market changes contributed; higher input costs, unfavorable currency movements, taxes, and restructuring charges partly offset the gains.
  • Total segment after-tax operating income increased 33% to $1.893 billion. Alumina ATOI rose to $607 million from $301 million; Flat-Rolled Products to $266 million from $220 million; Engineered Products and Solutions to $539 million from $415 million. Primary Metals ATOI was $481 million, slightly below $488 million.
  • Cash from operations declined $68 million, principally due to higher pension contributions, weaker working-capital cash inflow, and increased outflows for noncurrent assets. Capital spending rose $272 million.
  • Total debt increased $206 million year over year, although management said it had declined $1.207 billion over three years. The company issued $1.25 billion of 5.40% notes due 2021 and used proceeds in part to retire nearer-term notes.

Outlook, management commentary, and risks

  • Management forecast 7% growth in global primary aluminum consumption in 2012 and 9% growth in alumina consumption, with primary aluminum demand expected to exceed supply and alumina supply and demand expected to be balanced. These are forecasts, not reported results.
  • 2012 goals included positive operating cash flow exceeding capital spending, a 30%–35% debt-to-capital ratio, and further procurement, overhead, and working-capital savings. Capital expenditures were expected to be approximately $1.350 billion; estimated minimum pension funding was $650 million.
  • Management anticipated stronger aerospace and automotive markets but weaker European conditions, while energy and certain raw-material costs remained headwinds. It also expected 2012 tax expense at an approximately 27% effective rate. A potential Brazilian tax holiday could produce future cash-tax savings but a noncash charge of approximately $60–$90 million if approved.
  • Alcoa recorded $281 million of 2011 restructuring and other charges, including impairment and exit costs tied to U.S. smelter closures, employee reductions, European smelter curtailments, and a St. Croix litigation matter. Approximately 1,600 job eliminations were planned; additional 2012 charges were possible.
  • Alcoa planned permanent shutdown and demolition of its Tennessee smelter and two Rockdale potlines. It also planned 2012 curtailments at Portovesme, Italy, and partial curtailments at Avilés and La Coruña, Spain, primarily due to uncompetitive power costs and weaker aluminum prices. Portovesme could close permanently.
  • Material risks include aluminum-price and global-demand volatility, energy and raw-material costs, foreign exchange, pension funding and actuarial assumptions, project execution and joint-venture commitments, regulatory and environmental liabilities, and credit-rating pressure.
  • Italy’s European Commission electricity-tariff recovery remained contested; Alcoa estimated a potential payment of $300–$500 million and had recorded a $250 million charge. A separate Italian energy-authority ruling could lead to a reimbursement claim, but no claim had been presented and the outcome was unclear. The Alba lawsuit and DOJ/SEC investigations concerning alleged bribery and fraud remained unresolved; Alcoa said it could not estimate potential losses, which might be material in a particular period.

Most important facts for investors to verify

  • Confirm the issuer and security: this source is Alcoa Inc. (NYSE: AA), not Howmet Aerospace Inc.
  • Review the full-year versus Q4 distinction, especially the Q4 continuing-operations loss and the factors behind the annual improvement.
  • Check aluminum prices, demand, input and energy costs, and whether 2012 cash-flow, capital-spending, and leverage targets were achieved.
  • Assess debt maturities, pension contributions and funded status, and the scale of Saudi joint-venture commitments and guarantees.
  • Track developments in the Italian tariff recovery and Alba/DOJ/SEC matters, as well as environmental and other contingencies.