Phathom Pharmaceuticals, Inc. — Form 8-K Summary
Reporting date: May 25, 2023; filed May 30, 2023. The filing reports actions taken at the 2023 Annual Meeting of Stockholders and related corporate matters. No financial statements or operating-period results are included.
Business Context and Corporate Actions
- Stockholders elected Terrie Curran and Mark Stenhouse as Class I directors for three-year terms expiring at the 2026 annual meeting.
- Stockholders ratified Ernst & Young LLP as the independent registered public accounting firm for fiscal 2023.
- Stockholders approved an amendment to the Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation limiting officers’ personal liability for monetary damages arising from breaches of fiduciary duty, except where prohibited by Delaware law.
- The amendment became effective upon filing the Certificate of Amendment with the Delaware Secretary of State on May 26, 2023.
Financial Metrics, Liquidity, and Capitalization
The filing does not provide revenue, profit or loss, cash flow, margins, debt, cash balances, liquidity measures, or other financial results.
Material Changes and Compensation Program
- The amended non-employee director compensation program provides each newly elected non-employee director with an initial grant of 18,000 restricted stock units and options to purchase 30,000 common shares.
- Each continuing non-employee director will receive an annual grant of 9,000 restricted stock units and options to purchase 15,000 common shares.
- Specified equity awards vest over time, subject to continued board service. No changes were made to annual cash retainers.
- The filing states that the Board approved these compensation changes on May 25, 2022, although the surrounding disclosure concerns the 2023 annual meeting and the program is described as effective immediately. This date should be verified against the definitive program and subsequent filings.
Vote Results
| Proposal | For | Against or Withheld | Abstentions | Broker Non-Votes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Terrie Curran election | 32,159,915 | 95,494 withheld | Not separately reported | 6,632,203 |
| Mark Stenhouse election | 28,966,136 | 3,289,273 withheld | Not separately reported | 6,632,203 |
| Ernst & Young LLP ratification | 38,861,215 | 20,414 | 5,983 | Not reported |
| Officer liability amendment | 30,144,733 | 2,102,985 | 7,691 | Not reported |
Guidance, Outlook, Risks, and Unusual Items
- No financial guidance, product outlook, management forecast, or operating-risk update is provided.
- The officer liability amendment may reduce the circumstances in which certain officers can be held personally liable for monetary damages, subject to statutory exceptions.
- The revised director compensation program increases or formalizes equity awards and may result in additional stock-based compensation and dilution; the filing does not quantify the accounting impact.
Investor Verification Checklist
- Review Exhibit 3.1 for the precise scope and exceptions of the officer liability amendment.
- Confirm the effective date and full terms of the amended non-employee director compensation program when filed, as the program was expected to be included in the Form 10-Q for the quarter ending June 30, 2023.
- Verify the apparent May 25, 2022 approval-date reference in the compensation disclosure.
- Consult the company’s periodic financial filings for revenue, cash runway, operating expenses, debt, liquidity, and product-development updates, none of which are included in this Form 8-K.