IDT CORP annual report, FY2017

IDT Corporation — FY2017 Form 10-K

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended July 31, 2017; this is an annual filing, not a standalone Q4 filing. Q4 figures are noted separately below. IDT is a multinational holding company, with telecommunications and payment services generating almost all revenue.

Financial performance

MetricFY2017FY2016
Revenue$1,501.7 million$1,496.3 million
Income from operations$5.5 million$26.2 million
Net income$9.6 million$25.4 million
Net income attributable to IDT$8.2 million$23.5 million
Diluted EPS$0.35$1.03
Cash flow from operations$19.0 million$49.1 million
Cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities$148.6 millionNot stated here
Working capital$8.3 millionNot stated here
Borrowings outstandingNoneNone

Direct costs were $1,275.7 million, implying gross profit of approximately $226.0 million and a gross margin of about 15.0%, versus approximately 16.7% in FY2016. Operating margin was about 0.4%, versus 1.8%. IDT had an undrawn $25 million revolving credit facility maturing April 30, 2018. Cash-flow totals were $19.0 million from operations, $(39.6) million from investing and $6.8 million from financing; cash and cash equivalents decreased $13.5 million.

FY2017 Q4: Revenue was $395.0 million, operating income $3.7 million, net loss $(9.5) million, and loss attributable to IDT $(9.8) million, or $(0.41) per diluted share. The quarter included an $11.1 million income-tax expense from an increased valuation allowance.

Segments and changes versus FY2016

  • Telecom Platform Services: Revenue rose 0.9% to $1,464.1 million, but operating income fell to $24.4 million from $32.8 million. Retail Communications revenue declined 8.2% to $610.2 million, reflecting lower calling volumes, competitive pressure and weakness in the U.S.–Mexico corridor. Wholesale Carrier Services revenue increased 7.3% to $608.6 million; Payment Services grew 11.8% to $245.3 million.
  • Unified Communications as a Service: Revenue increased 11.8% to $29.4 million, while operating loss widened to $1.9 million from $1.6 million. Growth included hosted PBX, SIP trunking and cable telephony.
  • Consumer Phone Services: Revenue declined 20.2% to $5.5 million; operating income was $1.1 million. The business remains in harvest mode and management expects further customer and revenue declines.
  • All Other: Revenue declined to $2.7 million from $11.5 million, principally because Zedge was spun off in June 2016. All Other operating income was $0.3 million versus $4.2 million.

Outlook, material items and risks

  • Management expected operating cash flow and July 31 liquidity to cover anticipated FY2018 working capital and capital needs. FY2018 capital expenditures were estimated at $21–$23 million.
  • IDT planned to spin off Rafael Holdings, including real estate and interests in Rafael Pharmaceuticals and Lipomedix, and intended to contribute $50–$60 million in cash before the spin-off. The company said post-separation liquidity should support its business for the medium term, while noting uncertainty about future financing needs.
  • The planned sale of the Gibraltar-based bank was expected to close in calendar 2017, subject to regulatory approval and other conditions. The agreement provided for approximately $3.8 million plus the bank’s net assets, estimated at about $14 million at July 31, 2017.
  • FY2017 included a $10.0 million liability, plus legal fees, related to a settlement and mutual release with Straight Path; the arrangement also involved transfer of Straight Path IP Group for $6 million and potential sharing of future patent proceeds. A putative class and derivative lawsuit challenging related transactions was pending; IDT moved to dismiss and intended to defend itself.
  • Accrued Universal Service Fund-related regulatory fees were $43.5 million at year-end, with disputes and audits unresolved. Carrier payable disputes totaled $26.1 million. Five largest wholesale customers represented 34.9% of gross receivables, increasing collection exposure.
  • Competition, declining telecom prices and substitution by mobile and internet calling services threaten revenue and margins. Payment businesses also face licensing, anti-money-laundering, consumer-protection and data-security requirements. Management disclosed past attempted and successful cyberattacks but said it did not believe material internal or customer information had been compromised.
  • Other unusual items included a $16.6 million deferred-tax benefit from recognizing certain Netherlands tax assets, partly offset by an $11.1 million U.S. valuation allowance; the overall FY2017 income-tax line was a $2.0 million benefit. IDT reported no goodwill impairment.

Most important facts for investors to verify

  • Execution, timing and final funding terms of the Rafael Holdings spin-off, especially the planned $50–$60 million cash contribution and resulting IDT liquidity.
  • Underlying recurring profitability and cash generation after the Straight Path settlement and deferred-tax effects; operating cash flow fell to $19.0 million.
  • Retail Communications volume and margin trends, and whether growth in wholesale, payment services and UCaaS can offset continued legacy calling declines.
  • Collection performance on the increased wholesale receivables and resolution of the $43.5 million USF accrual and carrier disputes.
  • Closing and proceeds of the Gibraltar bank sale, status of the Straight Path-related litigation and FCC exposure, and any material developments in regulatory or cybersecurity risks.
  • Liquidity available for general operations: $10.8 million held by IDT Payment Services was unavailable for other purposes, and much of the cash associated with the bank was restricted or held for sale.