NORWOOD FINANCIAL CORP annual report, FY2016

Norwood Financial Corp. — 2016 Form 10-K Summary

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2016. Norwood Financial is a Pennsylvania bank holding company whose subsidiary, Wayne Bank, serves northeastern Pennsylvania and the Southern Tier of New York. The filing incorporates its financial statements and management’s discussion from a separate annual report; those details are not included in the supplied text.

Business context and material changes

  • On July 31, 2016, the company acquired Delaware Bancshares and its subsidiary, adding 12 branches in Delaware and Sullivan Counties, New York. Delaware had approximately $375.6 million of assets at acquisition. Consideration included about $3.86 million cash and 431,605 Norwood shares.
  • The acquired business contributed to substantial balance-sheet and portfolio growth. The company reported 27 banking offices and 28 ATMs at year-end.
  • On October 3, 2016, Norwood redeemed in full Delaware’s trust-preferred-related debt securities. The filing does not state the total redemption amount.

Financial position and key metrics

Metric2016Prior comparable period / context
Total assets$1.1 billion at year-end2015 value not provided in the supplied text
Deposits$925.4 million at year-endAverage deposits shown in the filing’s table were $714.9 million in 2016 versus $568.4 million in 2015; these are average, not year-end, balances
Stockholders’ equity$111.1 million at year-endAverage equity to average assets was 11.95%, versus 13.76% in 2015
Loans$714.1 million gross loans; $707.4 million net loansGross loans were $560.3 million in 2015
Investment securities$302.6 million$138.9 million in 2015; the increase includes securities acquired with Delaware
Allowance for loan losses$6.5 million, or 0.91% of loans$7.3 million, or 1.30%, in 2015
Credit qualityNonperforming assets of $7.2 million, or 0.64% of assets; nonperforming loans of $1.9 millionNonperforming assets were $10.0 million, or 1.33% of assets, in 2015; nonperforming loans were $7.1 million
Net charge-offs and provision$2.9 million net charge-offs; $2.1 million provision expense$3.2 million net charge-offs and $4.6 million provision expense in 2015
Short-term borrowings$32.8 million at year-end; year-average rate 0.31%$53.2 million at year-end and 0.25% average rate in 2015
  • Foreclosed real estate increased to $5.3 million from $2.8 million in 2015, despite the decline in total nonperforming assets.
  • Commercial real estate represented 44.8% of loans, residential real estate 33.2%, commercial loans 12.0%, construction 2.8%, and consumer loans 7.2%.
  • Average deposit costs were low: 0.05% on interest-bearing demand and savings, 0.22% on money market accounts, and 0.94% on time deposits. The bank reported no brokered deposits.
  • The bank was reported as “well capitalized” under prompt corrective action rules and in compliance with applicable capital requirements. Actual capital ratios are not provided in the supplied text.
  • The filing text does not provide a clear value for 2016 revenue, net income, net interest margin, or operating cash flow. It refers to financial statements and MD&A incorporated from the annual report.

Outlook, risks, contingencies, and unusual items

  • No numerical earnings or operating guidance is provided. Management identifies successful integration of Delaware, realization of cost savings, retention of acquired customers, and management of growth as key uncertainties.
  • Principal risks include commercial and real-estate lending losses, regional economic weakness, collateral-value declines, interest-rate and liquidity risk, securities impairment, regulatory and capital requirements, competition, cybersecurity, and the limited trading market for the stock.
  • At year-end, the company had $7.8 million of unrealized losses on approximately $261.8 million of investments identified in the risk discussion; impairment could affect earnings, capital, liquidity, and dividend capacity.
  • A lawsuit filed against Delaware alleges breach of an investment-banking right-of-first-refusal agreement and seeks damages exceeding $500,000. Delaware denies the claim and counterclaims for more than $1.0 million. The case was in discovery; management considers the claim meritless. The filing does not state a clear estimate of any potential loss or whether an accrual was recorded.
  • Management reported effective disclosure controls. No material change in internal control over financial reporting during the fourth quarter was reported.

Important facts for investors to verify

  • Review the incorporated annual report for audited income statements, cash-flow statements, net interest margin, earnings, capital ratios, liquidity measures, and management’s full results discussion.
  • Assess Delaware acquisition integration, realized cost savings, acquired-loan performance, and any associated goodwill or intangible-asset impairment exposure.
  • Reconcile the decline in nonperforming loans and allowance with the increase in foreclosed real estate, and review charge-offs and collateral valuations.
  • Check the status and accounting treatment of the Northeast Capital litigation and any other contingencies.
  • Evaluate securities portfolio duration, unrealized losses, sensitivity to interest rates, and the effect of dividends or capital needs on shareholder returns.