Norwood Financial Corp. — 2016 Form 10-K Summary
Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2016. Norwood Financial is a Pennsylvania bank holding company whose subsidiary, Wayne Bank, serves northeastern Pennsylvania and the Southern Tier of New York. The filing incorporates its financial statements and management’s discussion from a separate annual report; those details are not included in the supplied text.
Business context and material changes
- On July 31, 2016, the company acquired Delaware Bancshares and its subsidiary, adding 12 branches in Delaware and Sullivan Counties, New York. Delaware had approximately $375.6 million of assets at acquisition. Consideration included about $3.86 million cash and 431,605 Norwood shares.
- The acquired business contributed to substantial balance-sheet and portfolio growth. The company reported 27 banking offices and 28 ATMs at year-end.
- On October 3, 2016, Norwood redeemed in full Delaware’s trust-preferred-related debt securities. The filing does not state the total redemption amount.
Financial position and key metrics
| Metric | 2016 | Prior comparable period / context |
|---|---|---|
| Total assets | $1.1 billion at year-end | 2015 value not provided in the supplied text |
| Deposits | $925.4 million at year-end | Average deposits shown in the filing’s table were $714.9 million in 2016 versus $568.4 million in 2015; these are average, not year-end, balances |
| Stockholders’ equity | $111.1 million at year-end | Average equity to average assets was 11.95%, versus 13.76% in 2015 |
| Loans | $714.1 million gross loans; $707.4 million net loans | Gross loans were $560.3 million in 2015 |
| Investment securities | $302.6 million | $138.9 million in 2015; the increase includes securities acquired with Delaware |
| Allowance for loan losses | $6.5 million, or 0.91% of loans | $7.3 million, or 1.30%, in 2015 |
| Credit quality | Nonperforming assets of $7.2 million, or 0.64% of assets; nonperforming loans of $1.9 million | Nonperforming assets were $10.0 million, or 1.33% of assets, in 2015; nonperforming loans were $7.1 million |
| Net charge-offs and provision | $2.9 million net charge-offs; $2.1 million provision expense | $3.2 million net charge-offs and $4.6 million provision expense in 2015 |
| Short-term borrowings | $32.8 million at year-end; year-average rate 0.31% | $53.2 million at year-end and 0.25% average rate in 2015 |
- Foreclosed real estate increased to $5.3 million from $2.8 million in 2015, despite the decline in total nonperforming assets.
- Commercial real estate represented 44.8% of loans, residential real estate 33.2%, commercial loans 12.0%, construction 2.8%, and consumer loans 7.2%.
- Average deposit costs were low: 0.05% on interest-bearing demand and savings, 0.22% on money market accounts, and 0.94% on time deposits. The bank reported no brokered deposits.
- The bank was reported as “well capitalized” under prompt corrective action rules and in compliance with applicable capital requirements. Actual capital ratios are not provided in the supplied text.
- The filing text does not provide a clear value for 2016 revenue, net income, net interest margin, or operating cash flow. It refers to financial statements and MD&A incorporated from the annual report.
Outlook, risks, contingencies, and unusual items
- No numerical earnings or operating guidance is provided. Management identifies successful integration of Delaware, realization of cost savings, retention of acquired customers, and management of growth as key uncertainties.
- Principal risks include commercial and real-estate lending losses, regional economic weakness, collateral-value declines, interest-rate and liquidity risk, securities impairment, regulatory and capital requirements, competition, cybersecurity, and the limited trading market for the stock.
- At year-end, the company had $7.8 million of unrealized losses on approximately $261.8 million of investments identified in the risk discussion; impairment could affect earnings, capital, liquidity, and dividend capacity.
- A lawsuit filed against Delaware alleges breach of an investment-banking right-of-first-refusal agreement and seeks damages exceeding $500,000. Delaware denies the claim and counterclaims for more than $1.0 million. The case was in discovery; management considers the claim meritless. The filing does not state a clear estimate of any potential loss or whether an accrual was recorded.
- Management reported effective disclosure controls. No material change in internal control over financial reporting during the fourth quarter was reported.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Review the incorporated annual report for audited income statements, cash-flow statements, net interest margin, earnings, capital ratios, liquidity measures, and management’s full results discussion.
- Assess Delaware acquisition integration, realized cost savings, acquired-loan performance, and any associated goodwill or intangible-asset impairment exposure.
- Reconcile the decline in nonperforming loans and allowance with the increase in foreclosed real estate, and review charge-offs and collateral valuations.
- Check the status and accounting treatment of the Northeast Capital litigation and any other contingencies.
- Evaluate securities portfolio duration, unrealized losses, sensitivity to interest rates, and the effect of dividends or capital needs on shareholder returns.