Alphatec Holdings, Inc. - Form 8-K Summary
Business Context and Reporting Period
This Current Report on Form 8-K was filed by Alphatec Holdings, Inc. on February 26, 2009 (signed March 4, 2009). The filing discloses the approval of executive compensation arrangements, specifically the 2009 Bonus Plan and the payment of 2008 bonuses, by the Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors.
Key Financial Metrics and Compensation Details
The filing does not provide consolidated revenue, profit, cash flow, or debt metrics for the company. It focuses exclusively on executive compensation structures and specific payout amounts.
- 2009 Bonus Plan Structure: Bonuses are tied to EBITDA, sales, and profit targets. Payments are generally due after the end of the 2009 fiscal year, with partial quarterly payments for one executive.
- 2008 Bonus Payments: Cash bonuses and stock options were awarded for performance in the fiscal year ended December 31, 2008.
| Executive | 2009 Base Salary | 2009 Target Bonus % | 2008 Cash Bonus | 2008 Stock Options |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dirk Kuyper (CEO) | $375,000 | 100% | $93,750 | 50,000 shares |
| Peter C. Wulff (CFO) | $260,000 | 50% | $16,250 | 25,000 shares |
| Kermit Stott (VP Ops) | $225,000 | 50% | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
| Jens Peter Timm (VP R&D) | $225,000 | 50% | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
| Ebun S. Garner (Gen. Counsel) | $230,000 | 50% | $28,750 | 20,000 shares |
| Steven Lubischer (VP Sales) | $245,000 | 100% | $148,625 | 0 shares |
| Mr. Asai (Asia Region) | 26M JPY | Up to 35% | Not Disclosed | Not Disclosed |
Material Changes and Unusual Items
The filing notes that while the 2008 bonus plan was previously disclosed, the specific payments to Messrs. Kuyper, Wulff, and Garner were granted outside the terms of the formal 2008 Bonus Plan. These amounts were determined based on the Compensation Committee's assessment of company and individual performance in 2008. Stock options granted in 2008 vest in four equal installments over four years with a ten-year term.
Guidance, Outlook, and Risks
The filing does not contain forward-looking financial guidance, market outlook, or specific risk factors. It references that a summary of the 2009 Plan will be filed as an exhibit to the Form 10-Q for the period ending March 31, 2009.
Key Facts for Investor Verification
- Verify the specific EBITDA and sales targets approved by the Compensation Committee for the 2009 fiscal year, as these determine the actual payout amounts.
- Confirm the total number of shares available under the Amended and Restated 2005 Employee, Director and Consultant Stock Plan to assess dilution from the 95,000 options granted.
- Review the upcoming Form 10-Q for the period ending March 31, 2009, for the detailed summary of the 2009 Bonus Plan.
- Note that the 2008 cash bonuses for Messrs. Kuyper, Wulff, and Garner were discretionary awards outside the formal plan structure.