Filing summary
Entity and period: The supplied filing is Cerecor Inc.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2015, filed March 23, 2016. It is not identified as an Avalo Therapeutics filing, and it reports annual results rather than a standalone Q4 filing.
Business context and reporting period
Cerecor was a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company developing treatments for neurological and psychiatric disorders. Its lead programs were CERC-301 and CERC-501, both in Phase 2, and CERC-406, a preclinical candidate. It had no approved products and no product sales revenue. At year-end it had 13 full-time employees.
Financial results and liquidity
| Metric | FY 2015 | FY 2014 |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue from product sales | $0 | $0 |
| Research and development expense | $6.59 million | $12.24 million |
| General and administrative expense | $4.42 million | $4.88 million |
| Operating loss | $11.01 million | $17.12 million |
| Net loss | $10.49 million | $16.06 million |
| Net cash used in operating activities | $10.16 million | $15.52 million |
| Cash and cash equivalents at year-end | $21.16 million | $11.74 million |
| Working capital at year-end | $15.8 million | Not stated here |
| Term loan outstanding, face amount | $5.69 million | $7.50 million |
Gross margins are not meaningful because the company had no product revenue. Net loss per share was $4.71 in 2015 versus $5.48 in 2014; the comparison is affected by the 2015 IPO and changes in weighted-average shares. The unaudited Q4 2015 net loss was $3.65 million. Management said year-end cash was expected to fund operating and capital requirements for at least the following 12 months, while also stating that substantial additional financing would be required to execute the longer-term plan.
The secured term loan carried an 8.20% interest rate at year-end, with approximately $305,000 monthly principal-and-interest payments and maturity in Q3 2017. The loan was secured by company assets other than intellectual property; the lender had account-control rights upon default.
Material changes versus prior period
- Net loss narrowed by $5.57 million year over year, and operating cash use declined by $5.35 million.
- R&D expense fell $5.65 million, mainly because CERC-301 trial activity was lower after a 2014 Phase 2 trial and because of reduced COMTi activity and lower headcount. CERC-501 licensing and development costs partly offset the decline.
- Cash increased by $9.42 million, primarily reflecting the October 2015 IPO. The offering generated $26.0 million gross proceeds and approximately $23.6 million net proceeds before offering expenses; the underwriter’s over-allotment generated additional gross proceeds of $135,319.
- Preferred stock converted to common stock at the IPO. The company reported $13.08 million of stockholders’ equity at year-end, compared with a $26.33 million deficit in 2014.
- Former CEO Blake Paterson resigned effective December 31, 2015. The filing reports $527,500 in severance payments, including a 2015 bonus and an additional payment; Uli Hacksell became CEO and president effective January 1, 2016.
Outlook, commentary, risks, and unusual items
- Development outlook: The company expected top-line data from the CERC-301 Phase 2 study and the CERC-501 smoking-cessation study in the second half of 2016. Advancing CERC-406 toward an IND was dependent on additional funding. These are management expectations, not reported outcomes.
- Clinical risk: A prior Phase 2 CERC-301 study, Clin301-201, failed its primary endpoint; the filing also describes an earlier 8 mg study with failed results. The company planned a new study using 12 mg and 20 mg doses. In January 2016, after year-end, NIH discontinued a CERC-501 treatment-resistant depression Phase 2 study because of slow progression.
- Funding and execution: Continued development beyond ongoing trials depended on additional capital, collaboration, grants, or other financing. Further equity financing could dilute shareholders; unavailable or unfavorable funding could force delays, reductions, or termination of programs.
- Operating model: The company relied on third parties for clinical trials and all manufacturing, with certain key supplies held by single suppliers. It had no commercial sales, marketing, or distribution infrastructure.
- Licensing obligations: Merck and Lilly agreements include contingent development and sales milestones and royalties if products are commercialized. The filing does not include these contingent amounts in contractual-obligation totals.
- Accounting and governance: Fair-value gains on warrant, unit-purchase-option, and investor-rights liabilities contributed $1.31 million to 2015 other income and are not operating cash generation. Management judged disclosure controls effective at a reasonable-assurance level; no management assessment or auditor attestation of internal control over financial reporting was included, citing the newly public company transition period.
- Audit and contingencies: Ernst & Young issued an unqualified opinion on the financial statements. The company reported no material legal proceedings and no off-balance-sheet arrangements. It had a full valuation allowance against deferred tax assets and had not determined whether ownership changes could limit use of tax attributes.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Confirm the issuer: the filing identifies Cerecor Inc., not Avalo Therapeutics, and covers FY 2015 rather than only Q4.
- Review subsequent disclosures for actual CERC-301 and CERC-501 trial results, regulatory discussions, and the impact of the NIH study discontinuation.
- Check current cash, burn rate, financing needs, and debt repayment status; the stated cash runway was only at least 12 months from the filing’s planning date.
- Verify the terms and potential dilution from the IPO warrants, underwriter option, equity awards, and registered resale shares.
- Assess the status of license agreements, contingent milestones and royalties, manufacturing supply arrangements, and any changes to the development pipeline.