LISATA THERAPEUTICS, INC. annual report, FY2012

NeoStem, Inc. — 2013 Form 10-K Summary

Filing and period clarification: The supplied filing is NeoStem, Inc.’s annual report for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, filed March 13, 2014. It is not a Lisata Therapeutics filing and does not report 2012 Q4 results. The provided text does not give standalone fourth-quarter 2013 financial results.

Business context

NeoStem combined cell-therapy research and development with contract development and manufacturing services through its wholly owned subsidiary Progenitor Cell Therapy (PCT). Its principal clinical programs were AMR-001, an autologous CD34-cell candidate for post-heart-attack treatment, and T regulatory cell therapies for immune disorders. PCT generated service revenue. Following its China exits and divestiture of its Erye interest in 2012, the company reported one operating segment: Cell Therapy.

Financial performance and liquidity

Metric20132012
Revenue$14.7 million$14.3 million
Gross profit / margin$1.7 million / 12%$2.4 million / 17%
Operating expenses$38.5 million$32.8 million
Operating loss$36.8 million$30.4 million
Net loss from continuing operations$39.5 million$36.1 million
Net loss attributable to common stockholders$39.0 million$55.3 million
Cash used in continuing operating activities$27.1 million$18.8 million
  • Revenue increased 2%. Clinical services rose 14% and processing and storage services rose 30%; reimbursable clinical-service revenue declined 40%, partly reflecting changed client billing terms.
  • Research and development expense increased 62% to $16.9 million, mainly due to the AMR-001 Phase 2 trial and the Treg program. Selling, general and administrative expense declined 3% to $21.6 million.
  • Gross margin contracted to 12% from 17%, as costs of revenue rose faster than revenue.
  • At year-end, cash and cash equivalents were $46.1 million, working capital was $41.0 million, total assets were $89.8 million, total liabilities were $27.8 million, and stockholders’ equity was $62.5 million.
  • Balance-sheet debt included $3.24 million of mortgages and $0.91 million of notes payable. The filing also lists $0.91 million of capital-lease obligations in contractual commitments; verify any overlap before treating this as additional debt.
  • Financing activities provided $62.2 million in 2013, including $58.7 million of net proceeds from common-stock issuance. Common shares outstanding rose from 16.4 million to 27.2 million during the year.

Material changes, outlook and risks

  • Enrollment of 160 patients in the Phase 2 PreSERVE AMI trial was completed in December 2013. Management expected the final primary-endpoint follow-up in June 2014 and data analysis afterward; results were not reported in this filing.
  • Management expected to initiate a Phase 2 chronic-heart-failure study in Europe and Treg studies for type 1 diabetes and steroid-resistant asthma in 2014. These were plans, not reported outcomes. Preclinical traumatic-brain-injury data were also expected in 2014.
  • Management said available cash and revenue-generating activities were expected to fund the business as then operated into 2015, while also anticipating a need for additional capital for clinical development and PCT expansion. The company used the remaining $5.6 million available under its prior Aspire agreement in January 2014 and entered a new agreement providing for up to $30 million of stock purchases over 24 months, subject to its terms and share limits.
  • Key risks include continuing losses and cash burn, dependence on future financing, potential shareholder dilution, uncertain clinical efficacy and regulatory approval, trial enrollment and manufacturing scale-up, reliance on PCT as the sole clinical manufacturing source for key programs, and uncertain market acceptance and reimbursement.
  • The filing reports serious adverse events in the AMR-001 Phase 1 study and serious events in the Phase 2 study whose treatment allocation was not yet known. The Data Safety Monitoring Board had not raised concerns and recommended continuing the Phase 2 trial. A prior Phase 1 clinical hold following a participant death was lifted by the FDA.
  • Other notable items: the $9.45 million AMR-001 acquisition-related contingent-consideration liability was remeasured using significant unobservable assumptions; the company reported no impairment of goodwill in 2013. The independent auditor gave unqualified opinions on both the financial statements and internal control over financial reporting.

Important facts for investors to verify

  • Confirm that the intended issuer and period are NeoStem and fiscal 2013, rather than Lisata Therapeutics and 2012 Q4.
  • Review subsequent filings for actual PreSERVE AMI results and whether the planned 2014 trials began on schedule.
  • Track operating cash use against the stated runway and any additional financing, including shares issued under the Aspire agreement.
  • Examine PCT’s customer concentration, contract pipeline, margins, and expansion costs; two customers represented 19% and 11% of 2013 revenue.
  • Assess the assumptions behind the contingent-consideration valuation, clinical risks, manufacturing capacity, and potential dilution from outstanding options and warrants.