Eightco Holdings Inc. current report, 22 February 2024

Eightco Holdings Inc. Form 8-K Summary

Reporting context: Current Report on Form 8-K filed February 26, 2024, reporting events dated February 22 and February 26, 2024. The filing does not provide quarterly or annual operating results.

Financing, Liquidity and Capital Structure

  • Eightco agreed to sell 987,807 common shares at $0.82 per share in a private placement, with expected gross proceeds of approximately $0.81 million.
  • Two subsequent lenders advanced Forever 8 Fund, LLC an aggregate of $75,000 under the Series B financing. The loans are evidenced by promissory notes and are subject to the applicable subordination arrangements.
  • The Company paid Hudson Bay Master Fund Ltd. $365,000 on February 26, 2024, representing the remaining principal under a senior secured convertible note issued in March 2023. The filing does not state the resulting cash balance, total debt, or liquidity runway.
  • After the reported transactions, fully diluted shares outstanding were approximately 8.9 million.

Management and Employment Changes

  • Kevin O’Donnell was appointed Interim Chief Executive Officer effective December 31, 2023, following Brian McFadden’s resignation as CEO. O’Donnell remains Chairman of the Board while serving as interim CEO.
  • McFadden is scheduled to resign from the Board on March 31, 2024. He is eligible for $146,683 of accrued unpaid salary and $422,500 of severance, payable through quarterly installments, with the first $105,625 installment satisfied through 128,811 fully vested shares at $0.82 per share. Future installments may be paid in cash or stock.
  • Brett Vroman’s employment agreement was terminated, while he continues as Chief Financial Officer through a consulting agreement with CXO Lite, LLC at $10,000 per month beginning January 1, 2024. The agreement renews monthly unless terminated on 30 days’ notice.
  • Vroman is entitled to $151,615.46 of back pay, severance equal to 24 months of base salary under his former employment agreement, health-insurance reimbursement, eligible expenses, and vesting of earned shares. The filing does not state the dollar amount of the 24-month severance.

Share Issuances and Other Unusual Items

  • The Board approved 600,000 shares for consulting services to be provided in 2024 and 128,984 shares for legal services rendered in 2023.
  • The Company approved 252,169 shares to settle a $206,779.37 warrant buyout obligation and 370,563 shares to former Forever 8 securityholders in exchange for terminating additional obligations under the Forever 8 transaction agreements.
  • The Compensation Committee approved 457,625 fully vested restricted shares for certain employees and 256,098 fully vested restricted shares for the three independent directors for 2023 services.
  • Each independent director will also receive $40,000 in cash during 2024, paid in four quarterly installments, for 2023 services.

Revenue, Profitability and Cash Flow

The filing text does not provide revenue, gross profit, operating income, net income, margins, operating cash flow, capital expenditures, or comparable-period financial metrics. Accordingly, material changes in operating performance versus the prior period cannot be assessed from this filing.

Outlook and Risks

  • The filing references a press release discussing the Company’s strategic direction, but the supplied filing text does not include specific financial guidance or quantified outlook.
  • Key risks include dependence on interim leadership, significant equity dilution from the private placement and extensive share issuances, ongoing financing needs, obligations under severance arrangements, and reliance on related or former insiders as lenders.
  • The private placement is unregistered and relies on Securities Act Section 4(a)(2) and Regulation D exemptions.

Investor Verification Items

  1. Verify the final closing status, use of proceeds, and net proceeds from the $0.81 million private placement.
  2. Reconcile the approximately 8.9 million fully diluted shares with the private placement, compensation shares, settlement shares, and potential future severance shares.
  3. Confirm the Company’s post-repayment debt balance, cash balance, and liquidity runway after the $365,000 Hudson Bay payment.
  4. Review the full Series B and Series C financing documents for collateral, priority, interest, maturity, covenants, and default provisions.
  5. Confirm the total severance obligation owed to Brett Vroman, including the undisclosed 24-month salary amount.
  6. Assess the operational and governance implications of the CEO transition and CFO consulting arrangement.