Business context and reporting period
Walmart Inc. (then Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.) filed this Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2016 (“fiscal 2016”), not a standalone calendar-quarter report. The company operates Walmart U.S., Walmart International and Sam’s Club, serving customers through stores and digital channels. It reported more than 11,500 retail units in 28 countries and approximately 2.3 million associates.
Management says sales and operating income are seasonal, with the fiscal quarter ending January 31 historically the strongest. The filing notes that fourth-quarter results can be difficult to forecast.
Financial metrics
| Metric | Fiscal 2016 | Comparable period |
|---|---|---|
| Total revenue | $482.1 billion | Not stated in the provided filing text |
| Net sales | $478.6 billion | Not stated on a consolidated basis |
| Walmart U.S. net sales | $298.4 billion | $288.0 billion in fiscal 2015 |
| Walmart International net sales | $123.4 billion | $136.2 billion in fiscal 2015 |
| Sam’s Club net sales | $56.8 billion | $58.0 billion in fiscal 2015 |
The provided text does not give clear consolidated values for net income, operating income, cash flow, margins, debt or liquidity; the Form 10-K incorporates the Annual Report to Shareholders for those details.
Material changes versus the prior comparable period
- Walmart U.S. net sales rose about 3.6% year over year; Walmart International fell about 9.4%; Sam’s Club fell about 2.1%.
- Walmart U.S. ended the year with 4,574 retail units, including 161 Neighborhood Markets and other small-format openings and 158 closures. The filing says 149 U.S. stores closed following the January 2016 global closure announcement.
- International unit count was 6,299, compared with 6,290 in the prior year; the filing also reports 189 international closures during fiscal 2016.
- The company replaced its prior share-repurchase authorization with a $20 billion program in October 2015. At January 31, $17.5 billion remained authorized.
Outlook, management commentary, risks and unusual items
- U.S. pay and training initiatives raised pay for approximately 500,000 associates in fiscal 2016. Further increases for approximately 1.2 million U.S. associates were implemented in February 2016; the filing estimates these increases will aggregate $1.5 billion in fiscal 2017. Management cautions that, absent offsets, operating income and income from continuing operations could remain below pre-fiscal-2017 levels in fiscal 2018 and thereafter.
- The company reported $126 million of fiscal 2016 costs related to its ongoing FCPA investigation and compliance review. It says additional costs are expected, but it cannot reasonably estimate a loss or range of loss. Government investigations and shareholder litigation remain ongoing.
- A material weakness in lease accounting controls, identified during fiscal 2016, was reported as remediated after testing in the fourth quarter.
- Other key risks include intense retail and e-commerce competition, foreign-exchange movements, labor and benefit costs, cybersecurity and digital-service disruptions, supply-chain issues, regulatory and tax changes, and legal proceedings. The company disclosed a third-party security incident affecting some Walmart Canada photo-center users, which it did not believe had a material impact.
- The company stated that possible losses in the identified environmental matters were not expected to be material, individually or in aggregate. One California matter included a $1.5 million civil-penalty settlement demand; discussions were continuing.
Important facts for investors to verify
- Consult the incorporated Annual Report to Shareholders for consolidated profit, cash flow, margin, debt, liquidity, capital expenditure and full segment operating-income data.
- Review the causes and sustainability of the International and Sam’s Club sales declines, including the effect of currency translation and comparable sales.
- Assess the expected earnings impact of U.S. wage increases and management’s assumptions for offsetting labor costs.
- Monitor the cost and outcomes of the FCPA investigations, related litigation, and other contingencies; the filing provides no reasonably estimable FCPA loss range.
- Confirm progress on digital growth, store closures and capital allocation, including actual share repurchases under the $20 billion authorization.