HORMEL FOODS CORP annual report, FY2012

Hormel Foods Corporation — FY2012 Form 10-K

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended October 28, 2012. The filing is an annual report, not a standalone fourth-quarter report. The supplied text omits the incorporated annual-stockholder-report financial statements and MD&A, so several key financial values cannot be confirmed here.

Business context

Hormel produces and markets branded meat and other food products in the U.S. and internationally. Its five reportable segments are Grocery Products, Refrigerated Foods, Jennie-O Turkey Store, Specialty Foods, and All Other. The company emphasized branded, value-added products; perishable meat represented 53.5% of revenue, poultry 19.3%, shelf-stable products 17.6%, and other products 9.6%.

Financial performance and material comparisons

  • Revenue, profit, cash flow, margins, assets, and liquidity: The filing incorporates the statements and MD&A by reference, but the supplied text does not provide clear values. Debt balances and cash available are likewise not stated clearly.
  • Revenue mix versus FY2011: Perishable meat fell to 53.5% from 55.1%; poultry rose to 19.3% from 19.1%; shelf-stable rose to 17.6% from 16.8%; other rose to 9.6% from 9.0%.
  • Dividends: Quarterly dividend was $0.15 per share in FY2012, compared with $0.1275 in FY2011.
  • Share repurchases: In the fourth quarter, the company repurchased 381,800 shares at an average $27.96 per share. The table reported 1,190,200 shares remaining under the plan.
  • Debt instruments disclosed: The exhibit list references 4.125% notes due 2021 and a $300 million revolving credit agreement; the supplied text does not state year-end borrowings or facility availability.

Outlook, risks, and unusual items

  • No specific guidance or numerical outlook is provided in the supplied filing text. Management’s discussion and risk-factor disclosures are incorporated by reference but not reproduced.
  • Input-cost exposure includes pork, turkey feed grains, and fuel. Hormel purchased 97% of its hogs under supply contracts and raised turkeys equal to about 77% of its requirements; it hedged part of anticipated grain purchases.
  • Wal-Mart accounted for approximately 13.2% of FY2012 revenue, up from 12.5% in FY2011. The filing notes that losing major customers could materially affect a segment.
  • The company described food-industry competition as high. It also identified seasonal variation in fresh-pork supply and sensitivity to raw-material prices.
  • Various ordinary-course legal proceedings were pending; management did not expect their resolution, individually or collectively, to materially affect financial condition, results, or liquidity.
  • Management concluded disclosure controls were effective as of period-end; no material change in internal control over financial reporting was reported during Q4.

Important facts for investors to verify

  • Consult the incorporated annual report for FY2012 and FY2011 revenue, operating and net income, EPS, cash flows, segment results, balance-sheet liquidity, and debt balances.
  • Review the incorporated MD&A and risk factors for management’s actual outlook, commodity-cost effects, segment trends, and market-risk disclosures.
  • Verify year-end cash, debt maturities, and unused availability under the $300 million revolving facility; the supplied text does not establish these amounts.
  • Assess customer concentration and the company’s ability to pass through changing pork, turkey, and feed-grain costs.