Loandepot, Inc. current report, 25 January 2024

loanDepot, Inc. Form 8-K Summary

Business Context and Reporting Period

loanDepot, Inc. filed a current report covering events occurring on January 25, 2024. The filing concerns the company’s Ginnie Mae mortgage servicing rights financing program, conducted through its indirect subsidiary, loanDepot.com, LLC, and loanDepot GMSR Master Trust.

Material Transaction and Financial Obligations

  • Atlas Securitized Products, L.P. resigned as administrative agent under the existing transaction documents.
  • Nomura Corporate Funding Americas, LLC was appointed successor administrative agent and became the noteholder of 100% of the outstanding variable funding notes.
  • The company, Atlas and Nexera Holding LLC agreed to terminate the existing variable funding note documents.
  • The existing GMSR financing documents were amended and restated, including the base indenture, series supplements, participation agreement, master repurchase agreement and acknowledgment agreement.
  • The Series 2017-VF1, Series 2021-SAVF1 and Series 2021-PIAVF1 notes were re-issued in Nomura’s name and financed through new master repurchase agreements.
  • The Series 2017-MBSADV1 notes were re-issued in Nomura’s name and purchased under a new note purchase agreement.
  • LD Holdings Group LLC provided a guaranty to Nomura as additional credit enhancement.
  • The amended documents extend the maturity date to January 24, 2025.

The filing does not provide the outstanding principal balance, borrowing capacity, interest rates, collateral value, fees, liquidity impact or other quantitative financial terms of the GMSR MSR Program.

Key Changes Versus Prior Arrangements

  • Administrative agency and noteholder responsibilities moved from Atlas and related parties to Nomura.
  • References to the concept of “Pledged Eligible Security” were removed.
  • Benchmark provisions were updated and references to LIBOR were removed.
  • The Cumulative Interest Shortfall Amount Rate and Default Supplemental Fee Rate were updated; the filing text does not state the revised rates.
  • The transaction documents were updated with revised company notice information and other conforming amendments.
  • The amended financing creates or continues direct financial obligations and obligations under an off-balance-sheet arrangement, as reported under Item 2.03.

Outlook, Risks and Unusual Items

The filing provides no earnings guidance, operating outlook, revenue forecast, profit forecast or cash-flow guidance.

Key risks include the company’s obligations under the repurchase agreements and note purchase agreement, the pledge and financing of Ginnie Mae mortgage servicing rights and related participation interests, potential collateral and advance-reimbursement requirements, and the additional guaranty provided by LD Holdings Group LLC. The filing does not disclose whether the refinancing changed the company’s overall leverage, liquidity, borrowing costs or collateral requirements.

The transaction’s amended maturity date is January 24, 2025. Investors should review the full program documents because the filing states that its description is not complete.

Important Facts to Verify

  • Outstanding balances and available capacity under each series of notes and repurchase agreement.
  • Interest rates, benchmark mechanisms, revised shortfall and default fee rates, and other financing costs.
  • Collateral eligibility, advance rates, margin-call provisions and servicing advance obligations.
  • Accounting treatment and whether the arrangements are recorded as secured financings or otherwise treated as off-balance-sheet obligations.
  • Scope and enforceability of the LD Holdings Group LLC guaranty.
  • Required refinancing or repayment actions before the January 24, 2025 maturity date.
  • Any changes in counterparty, covenant, default or termination provisions contained in Exhibits 10.1 through 10.11.