Niagen Bioscience, Inc. current report, 13 July 2012

Business Context and Reporting Period

This Form 8-K was filed by ChromaDex Corp. on July 13, 2012, reporting a material event that occurred on the same date. The registrant, a Delaware corporation, operates through its wholly owned subsidiary, ChromaDex, Inc. The filing details the entry into an Exclusive License Agreement with Dartmouth College regarding the Nicotinamide Riboside Assay System.

Key Financial Metrics

This filing is a current report regarding a material agreement and does not contain audited financial statements, revenue figures, profit margins, cash flow data, or debt levels. The filing text does not provide a clear value for these metrics.

Financial obligations disclosed in the agreement include:

  • An upfront cash payment to Dartmouth College (amount not specified).
  • Annual license maintenance fees of $35,000.
  • Earned royalties on net sales of licensed products.
  • Payments upon completion of strategic milestones.
  • Additional consideration for sublicensing and manufacturing.

Material Changes

The primary material change is the acquisition of a worldwide, exclusive, sublicensable license to use patent rights for the Nicotinamide Riboside Assay System. This license covers applications in dietary supplements, food, food additives, cosmetics, and drug products. The agreement requires ChromaDex to diligently develop, manufacture, and sell licensed products and achieve specific milestone events.

Guidance, Outlook, and Risks

Management has committed to diligently developing and commercializing the licensed products. The agreement includes termination clauses allowing either party to terminate for breach, and ChromaDex retains the right to terminate with 90 days' prior written notice. The agreement terminates upon the expiration of the last patent right.

Certain terms of the agreement are subject to confidential treatment and will be fully disclosed in the subsequent Form 10-Q for the quarter ended September 29, 2012. A press release regarding this agreement was issued on July 16, 2012.

Investor Verification Checklist

  • Verify the specific amount of the upfront cash payment to Dartmouth College, which is not disclosed in this filing.
  • Review the upcoming Form 10-Q (quarter ended September 29, 2012) for the full text of the agreement and confidential terms.
  • Confirm the specific strategic milestones required for additional payments.
  • Assess the impact of the $35,000 annual maintenance fee and royalty structure on future cash flows.