Business context and reporting period
McDonald’s Corporation’s Form 10-K covers the fiscal year ended December 31, 2023; it is an annual filing, not a stand-alone fourth-quarter report. The company franchises and operates restaurants in more than 100 countries. Of 41,822 restaurants at year-end, approximately 95% were franchised. Revenue comes from company-operated restaurant sales and franchise fees, including rent and royalties.
Financial performance
| Metric | 2023 | 2022 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total revenue | $25.5 billion | $23.2 billion | +10% |
| Systemwide sales | $129.5 billion | Not stated here | +10% |
| Global comparable sales | +9.0% | +10.9% | Growth moderated |
| Operating income | $11.6 billion | $9.4 billion | +24% |
| Operating margin | 45.7% | 40.4% | +5.3 percentage points |
| Net income | $8.5 billion | $6.2 billion | +37% |
| Diluted EPS | $11.56 | $8.33 | +39% |
| Cash provided by operations | $9.6 billion | $7.4 billion | +30% |
| Capital expenditures | $2.4 billion | $1.9 billion | +24% |
| Free cash flow | $7.3 billion | Not stated here | +32% |
Free cash flow conversion was 86%, versus 89% in 2022. Franchised restaurant margins were approximately 90% of restaurant margin dollars. Management attributed performance principally to sales-driven franchise margin growth; company-operated margins also faced inflationary cost pressures. Comparable sales rose 8.7% in the U.S., 9.2% in International Operated Markets and 9.4% in International Developmental Licensed Markets.
Financial position, liquidity and shareholder returns
Year-end cash and equivalents were $4.6 billion, up from $2.6 billion. Debt obligations were $39.3 billion, versus $35.9 billion; the weighted-average annual interest rate was 3.7%, compared with 3.5%. Shareholders’ equity was a deficit of $4.7 billion. The company reported $4.0 billion available under a committed credit line and continued access to commercial paper and debt markets. Management expects cash, operating cash flows and debt issuance capacity to fund foreseeable needs.
The company returned $7.6 billion to shareholders in 2023: $4.5 billion in dividends and approximately $3.1 billion in repurchases. It declared dividends of $6.23 per share for the year; the quarterly rate rose 10% to $1.67 in the fourth quarter.
Material changes, outlook and commentary
- Reported 2023 results benefited from comparison with 2022 items, including $1.281 billion of charges related to the Russia business sale, a $271 million gain on the Dynamic Yield sale and a $537 million French tax-audit settlement expense. Excluding specified gains, charges and tax items, 2023 net income increased 17% and diluted EPS increased 18%.
- 2023 included $290 million of pre-tax charges related to the growth strategy, including restructuring, and $72 million for impaired software write-offs. The company expects restructuring costs in 2024 to be similar to 2023 and says costs may continue through 2027.
- Beginning in the fourth quarter, the war in the Middle East negatively affected Systemwide sales and revenue, mainly in developmental licensed markets. The company expects the impact to continue while the war persists and may continue or increase franchisee assistance.
- For 2024, management expects nearly 2% Systemwide sales growth from net restaurant expansion, operating margin in the mid-to-high 40% range, interest expense growth of 9%–11%, an effective tax rate of 20%–22%, capital expenditures of $2.5–$2.7 billion and free cash flow conversion in the 90% range. It plans more than 2,100 gross restaurant openings and expects over 1,600 net additions.
- Longer-term targets include 4%–5% net new restaurant unit growth, approximately 2.5% Systemwide sales growth contribution from unit expansion, continued operating margin expansion and 50,000 restaurants by year-end 2027.
- On January 30, 2024, McDonald’s acquired an additional 28% stake in its China, Hong Kong and Macau strategic partnership for $1.8 billion, raising its interest from 20% to 48%. It will remain a minority partner and continue equity-method accounting.
Risks, contingencies and controls
Key disclosed risks include geopolitical conflict, foreign exchange, inflation and commodity or labor costs, supply interruptions, franchisee financial health and execution, intense competition, food safety, technology and cybersecurity incidents, privacy requirements, litigation and tax audits, and evolving environmental and social expectations. Management stated that pending claims and lawsuits are not expected to have a material adverse effect, while acknowledging that unfavorable rulings could affect income in a period. The company reported effective disclosure controls and internal control over financial reporting; the auditor issued unqualified opinions on the financial statements and internal controls.
Investor verification priorities
- Assess the durability of comparable-sales growth, including the balance of pricing, guest counts and product mix, and the effect of the Middle East conflict.
- Reconcile reported earnings growth with prior-year unusual items and 2023 restructuring and software charges.
- Review debt maturities, interest-cost sensitivity, negative shareholders’ equity and planned capital spending alongside cash generation and shareholder distributions.
- Track execution of restaurant expansion and the 2027 growth targets, including the economics of new units and franchisee capacity to invest.
- Monitor tax-audit developments, litigation and the 2024 restructuring outlook; the filing notes unrecognized tax benefits of $587.7 million and ongoing tax examinations.