Ainos, Inc. annual report, FY2016

Business Context and Reporting Period

The supplied filing is Amarillo Biosciences, Inc.’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2016; it is not a standalone fourth-quarter report. The request identifies Ainos, Inc., which does not match the registrant named in the filing, so confirm the intended company and filing.

Amarillo Biosciences focused on developing low-dose oral interferon-alpha treatments, while pursuing additional medical and consumer-product businesses and expansion in Asian markets. The company reported that its long-time interferon supplier could no longer provide the supply needed for research, trials, or commercialization. It had incurred no R&D expense in either 2016 or 2015. The filing notes a Chapter 11 petition in 2013 and reorganization effective in 2014.

Financial Results and Liquidity

Metric20162015
Revenue$0$0
Gross profit (loss)$0$0
SG&A$667,111$519,821
Operating loss$(667,111)$(519,821)
Net loss$(669,982)$(521,874)
Basic and diluted loss per share$(0.03)$(0.03)
Cash used in operating activities$(520,808)$(366,414)
Cash used in investing activities$(148,330)$(11,578)
Cash provided by financing activities$782,125$80,574
Cash at year-end$134,125$21,138

With no revenue, a meaningful operating margin is not reported. The company’s year-end working-capital deficit was $1,010,176, compared with $549,945 in 2015. Total assets were $462,676 and total current liabilities were $1,272,575. Current liabilities included $791,481 in convertible notes payable to a related party, $187,500 in related-party advances, and $124,833 in customer deposits. The filing reports a monthly cash burn of approximately $50,000–$60,000 and estimates immediate development financing needs of $1.0–$1.6 million.

The company raised $332,125 through common-stock private placements in 2016 and issued 1,771,333 shares. Convertible notes were unsecured, payable on demand, and generally convertible at stated prices. The company reported no dividends and no outstanding preferred shares at year-end.

Material Changes Versus 2015

  • Net loss increased $148,108, or approximately 28%, while revenue remained zero.
  • SG&A increased $147,290, or approximately 28%; management attributed the increase principally to salaries, rent, travel, and meals.
  • Operating cash use rose by approximately $154,000. Financing provided $782,125, including equity proceeds and related-party funding, and year-end cash increased to $134,125.
  • The working-capital deficit widened by approximately $460,000. Related-party notes were converted or consolidated into convertible notes during 2016.
  • The company obtained a U.S. patent for oral interferon treatment of thrombocytopenia in December 2016.

Outlook, Risks, and Unusual Items

Management described plans to license or partner around its interferon intellectual property, explore diversified product lines, and prepare diabetes treatment centers in Taiwan, with deployment anticipated in the third quarter of 2017. These were plans, not reported operating results or formal financial guidance. The filing does not provide quantified revenue or earnings guidance.

  • Going concern: The auditor’s report states that the absence of significant revenue, recurring operating losses, and need for additional financing raise substantial doubt about the company’s ability to continue as a going concern. The financial statements include no adjustments for the outcome of that uncertainty.
  • Product development: Management said a replacement interferon source must be found; selecting a source would require additional studies and clinical trials. FDA or foreign regulatory approval would be needed before marketing relevant products.
  • Funding and dilution: Financing may not be available on acceptable terms. Additional equity could dilute existing shareholders; borrowing would add liabilities and cash commitments. Convertible related-party debt also creates potential dilution.
  • Controls: Management concluded disclosure controls and internal control over financial reporting were ineffective at year-end, citing material weaknesses in technical accounting resources, segregation of duties, and authorization and documentation of revenue and equity transactions. The independent auditor did not attest to internal-control effectiveness.
  • Related parties and contingencies: The filing describes financing and other transactions involving the CEO, a director-owned herb business, and entities connected with the company’s Asian operations. It reports no pending litigation. A $34,279 balance of accrued dividends relates to previously outstanding preferred equity.

The auditor issued an unqualified opinion that the financial statements were fairly presented under U.S. GAAP, alongside the going-concern warning.

Important Facts to Verify

  • Confirm whether this Amarillo Biosciences 2016 10-K is the intended filing for the Ainos, Inc. request.
  • Verify the company’s current cash, burn rate, financing availability, and ability to meet demand obligations and other current liabilities.
  • Check the status and terms of related-party convertible notes, advances, customer deposits, and any subsequent share issuances.
  • Confirm whether a reliable interferon supply has been secured and whether required studies, trials, and regulatory pathways are funded.
  • Verify progress and approvals for the proposed Taiwan diabetes centers and other planned business lines; the filing provides no realized revenue from them.
  • Assess remediation of the reported material weaknesses and the potential dilution from outstanding convertible securities.