Bank Of New York Mellon Corp annual report, FY2020

BNY Mellon — 2020 Form 10-K Summary

Reporting period: Fiscal year ended December 31, 2020; filed February 25, 2021. The filing describes an annual reporting period, not a standalone fourth quarter.

Business context

BNY Mellon is a global financial services company with Investment Services and Investment and Wealth Management segments, plus an Other segment. At year-end, it reported $41.1 trillion in assets under custody and/or administration and $2.2 trillion in assets under management.

Financial performance and condition

The supplied filing text does not provide clear values for revenue, net income, cash flow, margins, debt, liquidity, capital ratios, or other balance-sheet measures. It incorporates the Annual Report’s financial statements and management discussion by reference, but those detailed figures are not included in the supplied text.

Changes and notable items

  • The text does not provide comparable-period financial results, so year-over-year changes in revenue, profit, expenses, or other measures cannot be assessed from this source.
  • Thomas P. Gibbons became CEO in March 2020; Emily Portney became CFO in July 2020.
  • The company designated new Series G and Series H noncumulative perpetual preferred stock in 2020.
  • Management concluded that disclosure controls and procedures were effective as of December 31, 2020; no material fourth-quarter change in internal control over financial reporting was reported.

Outlook, risks, and contingencies

The supplied text does not state quantified earnings guidance or a specific financial outlook. It cautions that the coronavirus pandemic creates significant, uncertain risks. Other highlighted risks include operational and transaction-processing failures, cybersecurity and technology disruption, regulatory and litigation exposure, market and interest-rate sensitivity, reliance on fee-based revenue, credit and counterparty losses, liquidity management, competition, and the transition away from LIBOR and other IBORs. Legal proceedings and detailed risk disclosures are incorporated by reference; their particulars are not included here.

Important facts for investors to verify

  • Consult the incorporated 2020 Annual Report for audited income, cash-flow and balance-sheet figures, year-over-year comparisons, margins, credit-loss provisions, and segment results.
  • Verify capital, liquidity, funding, debt, and regulatory-ratio disclosures, which are not stated clearly in the supplied text.
  • Review the Annual Report’s discussion of COVID-19 effects, interest-rate sensitivity, fee revenue, and credit exposures.
  • Review the incorporated legal proceedings and contingency disclosures for amounts, status, and potential financial impact.
  • Assess the reported custody/administration and management asset totals in context; the supplied text does not provide their comparable-period changes.